Comparative Literature Faculty

portrait: Vincent Barletta Vincent Barletta

Associate Professor of Comparative Literature and Iberian and Latin American Cultures

Contact

Pigott Hall 225
650 723 4921
vbarletta@stanford.edu

portrait:  John Bender

Jean G. and Morris M. Doyle Professor in Interdisciplinary Studies
Professor of English and Comparative Literature

Contact

Building 460, Room 341
Phone: 650 723 3052
bender@stanford.edu
ON LEAVE AUT

portrait: Beverly Allen Russell Berman

Walter A. Haas Professor in the Humanities
Professor of Comparative Literature and German Studies
Senior Fellow, Hoover Institution
Director of German Studies

Contact

Building 260, Room 201
Phone: 650 723 1069
berman@stanford.edu

portrait: Beverly Allen Margaret Cohen

Andrew B. Hammond Professor of French Language, Literature and Civilization
Professor of Comparative Literature
 

Contact

Building 260, Room 211
Phone: 650 724 0106
macohen@stanford.edu

portrait: Sylke Tempel Amir Eshel

Edward Clark Crossett Professor of Humanistic Studies
Professor of German Studies and Comparative Literature

Contact

Pigott Hall 219
Phone: 650 723 0413
Fax: 650 725 8421
eshel@stanford.edu
portrait: DLCL Admin Joseph Frank

Professor Emeritus

In Memoriam (1918-2013)

portrait: Roland Greene Roland Greene

Mark Pigott KBE Professor in the School of Humanities and Sciences

Professor of English and Comparative Literature

Contact

Building 260, Room 215
Phone: 650 725 1214
rgreene@stanford.edu

portrait:  Monika Greenleaf

Associate Professor of Slavic Languages and Literatures and Comparative Literature

Contact

Building 240, Room 105
Phone: 650 725 5933
monika.greenleaf@gmail.com

portrait:  Hans Ulrich Gumbrecht

Albert Guérard Professor in Literature
Professor of Comparative Literature and of French and Italian
Chair of Graduate Studies, Comparative Literature

Contact

Building 260, Room 112
sepp@stanford.edu

portrait: Sylke Tempel Alexander Key

Assistant Professor of Arabic and Comparative Literature

Contact

Building 240, Room 109
akey@stanford.edu

OFFICE HOURS: 
book an appointment

portrait: Joshua Landy Joshua Landy

Andrew B. Hammond Professor in French Language, Literature and Civilization; Professor of Comparative Literature
Chair of Graduate Studies, French

Contact

104 Pigott Hall
650 723 4914
landy@stanford.edu

portrait:  Haiyan Lee

Associate Professor of Chinese and Comparative Literature

Contact

haiyan@stanford.edu

portrait:  Indra Levy

Associate Professor of East Asian Languages and Cultures and Comparative Literature

Contact

ilevy@stanford.edu

portrait: Franco Moretti Franco Moretti

Danily C. and Laura Louise Bell Professor
Professor of English and Comparative Literature

Contact

Building 460, Room 417
Phone: 650 723 4590
moretti@stanford.edu

portrait: Beverly Allen Elisabeth Mudimbe-Boyi

Professor of  French and Comparative Literature, Emerita

Contact

Building 260, Room 107
Phone: 650 723 1947
boyi@stanford.edu

portrait: David Palumbo-Liu David Palumbo-Liu

Louise Hewlett Nixon Professor

Professor of Comparative Literature and, by courtesy, English

Director, Undergraduate Program in Comparative Studies in Race and Ethnicity

Chair, Faculty Senate 2013-14

Contact

Building 260, Room 229
Phone: 650 725 4915
palumbo-liu@stanford.edu

portrait:  Patricia Parker

Margery Bailey Professor in English & Dramatic Literature
Professor of English and Comparative Literature

Contact

Building 460, Room 324
Phone: 650 723 1818
parker@stanford.edu

portrait: Beverly Allen Joan Ramon Resina

Professor of Iberian and Latin American Cultures and Comparative Literature
Director, Iberian Studies Program
Chair of Graduate Studies, Iberian and Latin American Cultures

Contact

Pigott Hall 224
650 723 3800
jrresina@stanford.edu

portrait: José Saldívar José David Saldívar

Professor of Comparative Literature

Director, Center for Comparative Studies in Race and Ethnicity (CCSRE)

Contact

Building 260, 206; Phone: 650-723-2244
jds1@stanford.edu

portrait:  Ramón Saldívar

Hoagland Family Professor in the School of Humanities and Sciences
Professor of English and Comparative Literature
Professor, by courtesy, of Iberian and Latin American Cultures

Contact

Building 460, Room 322
Phone: 650 725 1213
saldivar@stanford.edu

portrait:  Ban Wang

Professor of Asian Languages and Comparative Literature

Contact

Building 250, Room 215
Phone: 650 723 9836
banwang@stanford.edu