skip to page content | skip to main navigation
Awards resources compiled by Swain Library.  SOCRATES  E-JOURNALS  SITE SEARCH  ASK US  TEXT ONLY  SULAIR HOME  SU HOME
 Catalog and Search Tools  Research Help  Libraries and Collections  Services  How To ...  About SULAIR
Printer-Friendly Printer-Friendly

Subject Guides

General Guide | Analytical Chemistry | Biotechnology | Chemical Laboratory Safety | Crystallography | Drug Information | Inorganic Chemistry | Life Scientists | Physical Chemistry | Polymer Chemistry | Searching the Internet | Spectral Information

General Guide for Chemists and Chemical Engineers

Awards, Honors, & Prizes

  • The Albert Einstein World Award of Science

    The “Albert Einstein” World Award of Science was created as a means of recognition, and as an incentive to scientific and technological research and development. It takes into special consideration those researches which have brought true benefit and well being to mankind. The recipient of the award is elected by the Interdisciplinary Committee, which is constituted of world-renowned scientists, among them 25 Nobel laureates. The award consists of a Diploma, a Commemorative medal, and $10,000 dollars (US).

  • American Association for the Advancement of Science: Awards
  • American Chemical Society: Funding and Awards
  • American Institute of Chemical Engineers: Awards
  • Baylor University — Robert Foster Cherry Award for Great Teaching

    The Cherry Award program is designed to honor great teachers, to stimulate discussion in the academy about the value of teaching, and to encourage departments and institutions to value their own great teachers. The winner of the Cherry Award will receive a prize of $200,000 and will teach in residence at Baylor University during the 2006 fall or 2007 spring semester; travel expenses and a furnished apartment will be provided. To further Baylor University’s commitment to great teaching, the winner’s home department will receive $25,000.

  • The Enrico Fermi Award

    The Enrico Fermi Award is a Presidential award — one of the oldest and most prestigious science and technology awards given by the U.S. Government. It recognizes scientists of international stature for their lifetimes of exceptional achievement in the development, use, or production of energy (broadly defined to include the science and technology of nuclear, atomic, molecular, and particle interactions and effects). Fermi Award winners receive a citation signed by the President and the Secretary of Energy, a gold medal bearing the likeness of Enrico Fermi, and a $100,000 honorarium. In the event the Award is given to more than one individual in the same year, the recipients share $200,000.

  • Essays on the Nobel Prize (Eugene Garfield)
  • FECS: 100 Distinguished European Chemists
  • Fritz Pregl Prize

    Fritz Pregl Prize is awarded annually since 1931 by the Austrian Academy of Sciences, from the funds left at its disposal by the Nobel prize-winning chemist Fritz Pregl, to an Austrian scientist for distinguished achievements in chemistry.

  • Hertz Foundation Graduate Student Fellowship Awards
  • Ig Nobel Prizes
  • The MacArthur Fellows Program

    The MacArthur Fellows Program awards unrestricted fellowships to talented individuals who have shown extraordinary originality and dedication in their creative pursuits and a marked capacity for self-direction. There are three criteria for selection of Fellows: exceptional creativity, promise for important future advances based on a track record of significant accomplishment, and potential for the fellowship to facilitate subsequent creative work. The MacArthur Fellows Program is intended to encourage people of outstanding talent to pursue their own creative, intellectual, and professional inclinations. In keeping with this purpose, the Foundation awards fellowships directly to individuals rather than through institutions. Recipients may be writers, scientists, artists, social scientists, humanists, teachers, entrepreneurs, or those in other fields, with or without institutional affiliations. They may use their fellowship to advance their expertise, engage in bold new work, or, if they wish, to change fields or alter the direction of their careers.

  • National Academy of Engineering Awards
  • National Academy of Sciences Awards
  • National Science and Technology Medals Foundation
  • National Science Foundation (NSF) — Alan T. Waterman Award

    The annual award recognizes an outstanding young researcher in any field of science or engineering supported by the National Science Foundation. In addition to a medal, the awardee receives a grant of $500,000 over a three year period for scientific research or advanced study in the mathematical, physical, medical, biological, engineering, social, or other sciences at the institution of the recipient’s choice.

  • National Science Foundation (NSF) — The National Medal of Science

    The National Medal of Science was established by the 86th Congress in 1959 as a Presidential Award to be given to individuals “deserving of special recognition by reason of their outstanding contributions to knowledge in the physical, biological, mathematical, or engineering sciences.”

  • The Official Web Site of the Nobel Foundation
  • The Nobel Prize Internet Archive
  • Royal Society of Chemistry. Prizes and Awards
  • Stanford University. School of Humanities and Sciences. Awards and Honors | Facts: A Renowned Faculty
  • Stanford University — Undergraduate Award in Analytical Chemistry

    For a junior with a demonstrated aptitude in analytical chemistry; sponsored by the Division of Analytical Chemistry of the American Chemical Society. Award: 8-month subscription to Analytical Chemistry and an honorary membership in the Division of Analytical Chemistry for a like period.

  • Stanford University — Awards for Graduating Seniors
    • S.S. & I.M.F. Marsden Memorial Prize in Chemistry

      for an outstanding undergraduate student who has been involved in significant research in the Chemistry Department, and preferably is going on to graduate school in chemistry. Chemistry’s most prestigious award. Prize: certificate and $1,000.

    • Merck Index Award

      for an outstanding student in chemistry. Award: Merck Index (engraved with name of student).

    • Firestone Medal

      for the best honors thesis (chemistry is pooled with several other departments and programs each with fewer than ten honors theses). Note: honors in chemistry does not require a thesis. Award: engraved bronze medal and $200.

  • The Welch Foundation — Welch Award in Chemistry

    Any person can be considered for the award who has made important chemical research contributions which have had a significant, positive influence on mankind. The award is intended to recognize contributions that have not previously been rewarded in a similar manner.

  • The Welch Foundation — Norman Hackerman Award in Chemical Research

    The Norman Hackerman Award in Chemical Research was established by the Foundation to honor Scientific Advisory Board Chairman, Norman Hackerman, and to encourage and recognize young chemical scientists in Texas for their past research endeavors. The award will be made on an annual basis, when warranted, to a younger scientist who is age 40 or younger on June 30 for the year in which nominated and should have spent the most recent three (3) years doing chemical research in Texas.

  • The Wolf Prize in Chemistry

Last modified: May 11, 2010

seal © Stanford University. Stanford, CA 94305. (650) 723-2300. Terms of Use | Copyright Complaints
[an error occurred while processing this directive]