Citrix Desktop FAQs

This page answers questions specifically about the Citrix desktops used within AS. Questions that are more general are answered in the FAQs linked on the left sidebar of this page.

- Why is AS converting people to Citrix desktops?
- Is everyone in AS being converted to Citrix desktops?
- Is it OK to save my passwords in my Citrix profile?
- What are the timeout settings for the AS desktops?
- Why can't I get to all the websites I usually can, from the Citrix desktops?
- What are the file shares to be used for?
- Why can't I copy-and-paste between Citrix and my local desktop computer?
- The Citrix desktop doesn't have everything on it that I need. How do I get more software added?
- When I use PVCS, I don't see the drop-down box to navigate to the shared drives.
- My Citrix login is very slow.

Why is AS converting people to Citrix desktops?

This change stems from an incident in which a laptop was stolen. The laptop contained personal data on tens of thousands of Stanford students, faculty and staff. As a result of this incident, Stanford formed an Information Security Task Force to improve security and help prevent this kind of incident from recurring. More about the Information Security Task Force can be found in Confluence.

Back to top.

Is everyone in AS being converted to Citrix desktops?

Yes, eventually all direct access to AS servers and databases will be through remote desktops deployed through Citrix. The only exception will be for users of JDeveloper, who (for technical reasons) will instead be converted to remote desktops deployed through VMware View.

Back to top.

Is it OK to save my passwords in my Citrix profile?

No, it is never a good idea to store your password in programs like SecureCRT, Golden or SQL*Developer. See Administrative Guide Memo 64 for more information about users' responsibility for keeping their authentication information confidential.

Back to top.

What are the timeout settings for the AS desktops?

Active session limit - 10 hours - Maximum amount of time that a user's session can remain active on the server. When the time limit is reached the user is disconnected from the session.

Idle session limit - 4 hours - Maximum amount of time that an idle session (active mouse/keyboard movement withing the Citrix session) remains on the server. When the time limit is reached the user is disconnected from the session.

When a session limit is reached, or the onnection is broken (for example, due to network issues), the user's session will be disconnected.

Disconnected session timeout - 15 minutes - Maximum amount of time that a disconnected session remains on the server. If the user's session is disconnected or the connection is broken the user can re-connect to the same session.

Back to top.

Why can't I get to all the websites I usually can, from the Citrix desktops?

The Citrix servers, like all servers in the Stanford data center, have outbound firewall rules applied to ensure a strong information-security posture. The AS Infrastructure & Architecture team is in the process of setting up a server that will relay outbound traffic and allow us to open up selected sites from the Citrix desktops. If you would like to ensure that a site is available to you from the Citrix desktop, please file a Jira ticket to your applicaton's infrastructure team (that is, Toai's or Eric's teams). We expect to have the proxy servers completed in the next few weeks.

Back to top.

What are the file shares to be used for?

The Citrix desktops have file shares to allow you to save and share files, while keeping those files securely within the Data Center. While the shares vary from one team to another, based on that team's requirements, all desktops have shares called "as_share" and "archive".

"as_share" is mapped automatically for all AS folks, based on LDAP PrivGroup (organization:businessaffairs_as). Place files here you want to share with others in AS. Everyone is AS can read, write, or delete from this folder. The contents of this folder are not backed up. Files in this folder are removed after three days -- think of this as "/tmp" space on a UNIX server.

"archive" is mapped automatically for all users, and contains your personal profile. While you can see the other directories, you only have access to view the contents of your own directory. Files in this folder are backed up and retained as long as you want them.

"My Documents" is a special folder that contains your Citrix profile. If there a problems with your profile, data you store in "My Documents" may disappear if your profile is deleted. If you want to retain documents, be sure to save them in your "archive" folder.

"reports" is for storing the Hyperion reports for the RM1 development team.

Other shares you might see from the Citrix desktops: rm3docs, asdev, fss, ps, ps8.

Back to top.

Why can't I copy-and-paste between Citrix and my local desktop computer?

This is by design, to ensure that our data remains in the data center. You can copy-and-paste within Citrix, but not from Citrix to your local computer.

Back to top.

The Citrix desktop doesn't have everything on it that I need. How do I get more software added?

Please file a Jira ticket to your applications's infrastructure team (that is, Toai's or Eric's teams) to request new software on your Citrix-deployed desktop. Remember that all software installed on Stanford computers must be properly licensed, so you may need to provide a license key for new software.

Back to top.

When I use PVCS, I don't see the drop-down box to navigate to the shared drives.

Working with PVCS and the file structure on the Citrix server requires additional navigation when saving or retreiving files. When using the file naviation icon "....." next to the file location, type "w:\" in the "File name:" field and select ok to get to the w:\ drive or other drive location where want to save (or did save) your work file.

Back to top.

My Citrix login is very slow.

Very slow logons to published Citrix desktops is usually caused by bloated user profiles. Be sure to store files in your personal share location, not in your profile or in the "My Documents" folder.

Back to top.