Applications were due Tuesday, 2/15/11.

Summer 2011 Project Descriptions
Field Studies Program

 
Carol Boggs - Rocky Mountain Biological Laboratory, Colorado cboggs@stanford.edu
Population Biology of an Introduced Butterfly Gilbert 400
Time commitment: 10 weeks 650-723-5923
up to 2 positions available http://boggs.stanford.edu/
 
Carol Boggs & Kristjan Niitepold - Rocky Mountain Biological Laboratory, Colorado cboggs@stanford.edu
Resource allocation to life history in the wild Gilbert 400
Time commitment: 10 weeks 650-723-5923
up to 1 position available http://boggs.stanford.edu/
 
Gretchen Daily & Danny Karp - Stanford University & Las Cruces Biological Station, San Vito, Coto Brus, Costa Rica gdaily@stanford.edu
Promoting Vertebrate Mediated Pest Control in Anthropogenic Landscapes Herrin 427
Time commitment: 6-8 weeks 650-723-9452
2 positions available http://www.stanford.edu/group/CCB/Staff/gretchen.htm
 
Rodolfo Dirzo - Tanzania rdirzo@stanford.edu
Effects of land use change on ecology of infectious disease in Tanzania Herrin 453
Time commitment: 10 weeks 650-736-7643
1 position available http://www.stanford.edu/group/dirzolab/
 
Rodolfo Dirzo & Eric Abelson - Mexico City, Mexico or Washington, D.C. Contact Eric Abelson: eabelson@stanford.edu
Endocranial capacity and extinction risk in mammals Herrin 453
Time commitment: 10 weeks 650-736-7643
1 position available http://www.stanford.edu/group/dirzolab/
 
Tadashi Fukami - Hilo, Hawaii fukamit@stanford.edu
Community ecology of Hawaiian forests fragmented by lava flows Herrin 453
Time commitment: 10 weeks 650-721-1711
2 positions available www.stanford.edu/~fukamit/
 
William Gilly - Hopkins Marine Station and Gulf of California, Mexico lignje@stanford.edu
Physiological ecology of Humboldt Squid Hopkins Marine Station
Time commitment: 10 weeks 831-655-6219
1 position available http://gilly.stanford.edu/home.html
 
Deborah Gordon - Chamela Research Station, Chamela, Jalisco, Mexico dmgordon@stanford.edu
Behavioral ecology of turtle ants Gilbert 410B
Time commitment: 2-3 weeks 650-725-6364
1 position available http://www.stanford.edu/~dmgordon
 
Deborah Gordon - Southwestern Research Station, Portal AZ dmgordon@stanford.edu
Behavioral ecology of harvester ants Gilbert 410B
Time commitment: 3 weeks 650-725-6364
2 positions available http://www.stanford.edu/~dmgordon
 
Elizabeth Hadly - Great Basin (Nevada, Utah, and parts of CA and ID) intermontane west hadly@stanford.edu
Response of Lagomorphs to 15,000 Years of Great Basin Climatic Change Herrin 280A
Time commitment: 10 weeks 650-725-2655
2 positions available http://www.stanford.edu/group/hadlylab/people/index.html
 
Fiorenza Micheli & Chelsea Wood - Palmyra Atoll, USA Contact Chelsea Wood: clwood@stanford.edu
Assessing impacts of fishing on tropical lagoon flat communities Hopkins Marine Station
Time commitment: 10 weeks 831-655-6251
1 position available http://sites.google.com/site/chelsealwood/
 
Fiorenza Micheli & Dan Madigan - Hopkins Marine Station (TRCC) and offshore Southern California Bight Contact Dan Madigan: dmadigan@stanford.edu
Comparative feeding studies of ocean predators Hopkins Marine Station
Time commitment: 10 weeks 831-655-6251
1 position available  
 
George Somero & Nishad Jayasundara - Sri Lanka & the Indian Ocean Contact Nishad Jayasundara: nishadj@stanford.edu
Effects of marine environmental pollutants on cardiac responses to temperature in tropical goby fish in Sri Lanka Hopkins Marine Station
Time commitment: 8-10 weeks 831-655-6243
1 position available  
 
Peter Vitousek - Island of Hawai'i vitousek@stanford.edu
Agriculture in pre-Contact Hawaii Y2E2 375
Time commitment: 8-10 weeks 650-725-1866
2 positions available http://www.stanford.edu/group/Vitousek/
 
Ward Watt - Rocky Mountain Biological Laboratory, Colorado wbwatt@stanford.edu
Evolutionary genomics of energy-processing genes Gilbert 406A
Time commitment: 10 weeks 650-723-4297
1 position available
 
 
 

Applications were due Tuesday, 2/15/11.