Applications were due Tuesday, 2/15/11.

Summer 2011 Project Descriptions
Summer Research in Biology

All projects are on the Stanford main campus unless otherwise noted.

 
Dominique Bergmanndbergmann@stanford.edu
Environmental regulation of self-renewal Gilbert 208B
Time commitment: 10 weeks650-736-0983
2 positions available http://www.stanford.edu/group/bergmann/
 
Barbara Block - Hopkins Marine Station bblock@stanford.edu
Tracking White Sharks in the Eastern Pacific Ocean Hopkins Marine Station
Time commitment: 10 weeks831-655-6236
1 position availablehttp://www.tunaresearch.org/
 
Barbara Block - Hopkins Marine Station bblock@stanford.edu
Population Genetics of White Sharks and Bluefin Tuna Hopkins Marine Station
Time commitment: 10 weeks831-655-6236
1 position availablehttp://www.tunaresearch.org/
 
Martha Cyert mcyert@stanford.edu
Identifying critical amino acids in calcineurin, a highly conserved, Ca2+-regulated enzymeLokey 147
Time commitment: 8-10 weeks650-723-9970
1 position availablehttp://www.stanford.edu/group/cyert/
 
Russell Fernaldrfernald@stanford.edu
MicroRNAs and their role in regulating social behaviorGilbert 316A
Time commitment: 10 weeks650-725-2460
1 position available http://www.stanford.edu/group/fernaldlab/
 
Russell Fernaldrfernald@stanford.edu
Transgenic cichlid fish: a new tool for researchGilbert 316A
Time commitment: 10 weeks650-725-2460
1 position available http://www.stanford.edu/group/fernaldlab/
 
Russell Fernaldrfernald@stanford.edu
Virtual fish: Can this simulate real animals?Gilbert 316A
Time commitment: 10 weeks650-725-2460
1 position available http://www.stanford.edu/group/fernaldlab/
 
Hunter Fraserhbfraser@stanford.edu
Pinpointing important mutations in yeast evolutionHerrin 305
Time commitment: 12 weeks650-721-5781
3 positions available http://www.stanford.edu/~hbfraser/
 
Tadashi Fukamifukamit@stanford.edu
Community assembly of nectar-living yeastsHerrin 498A
Time commitment: 12 weeks650-721-1711
2 positions available http://www.stanford.edu/~fukamit/
 
William Gilly - Hopkins Marine Stationlignje@stanford.edu
Impacts of hypoxia in southern Monterey BayHopkins Marine Station
Time commitment: 8-10 weeks831-655-6219
1 position available http://gilly.stanford.edu/home.html
 
William Gilly - Hopkins Marine Stationlignje@stanford.edu
Toxins of a California cone snail Hopkins Marine Station
Time commitment: 8-10 weeks831-655-6219
1 position available http://gilly.stanford.edu/home.html
 
Philip Hanawalthanawalt@stanford.edu
Role of oxidative base damage in the etiology of Cockayne syndromeHerrin 394A
Time commitment: 10 weeks650-723-2424
1 position available http://www.stanford.edu/~hanawalt/
 
Philip Hanawalthanawalt@stanford.edu
Processing of unusual DNA structures and sequences during transcriptionHerrin 394A
Time commitment: 10 weeks650-723-2424
1 position available http://www.stanford.edu/~hanawalt/
 
H. Craig Heller & Bud Rubyhcheller@stanford.edu
Circadian System Control of Learning and MemoryGilbert 420
Time commitment: 10 weeks650-723-1509
2 positions available  
 
Liqun Luolluo@stanford.edu
Genetic Analysis of Neural Circuit Assembly and FunctionHerrin 150
Time commitment: 10 weeks650-723-6645
2 positions available http://www.stanford.edu/group/luolab/
 
Susan McConnellsuemcc@stanford.edu
Development of the cerebral cortexHerrin 115B
Time commitment: 10 weeks650-723-8786
2 positions available http://www.stanford.edu/group/skmlab/
 
Ashby Morrisonashbym@stanford.edu
The Influence of Chromatin in Genome Stability MechanismsGilbert 326
Time commitment: 10 weeks650-721-6589
2 positions available http://www.stanford.edu/group/morrison/
 
Mary Beth Mudgett mudgett@stanford.edu
Dissecting how bacterial pathogens manipulate plant physiology to elicit disease Gilbert 228A
Time commitment: 10 weeks650-725-8650
2 positions available http://www.stanford.edu/~mudgett/
 
Robert Sapolsky sapolsky@stanford.edu
Non-invasive gene/protein therapy in the injured nervous system Gilbert 428A
Time commitment: 10 weeks650-723-2649
3 positions available  
 
Jan Skotheimskotheim@stanford.edu
Cell cycle systems biologyLokey 137
Time commitment: 10 weeks650-721-6401 (lab)
2 positions available http://www.stanford.edu/group/skotheim
 
Jan Skotheim & Jonathan Payneskotheim@stanford.edu
Does oxygen availability control the evolution of organismal size?
A case study integrating laboratory, field, and paleontological data
Lokey 137
Time commitment: 10 weeks650-721-6401 (lab)
1 position available http://www.stanford.edu/group/skotheim
 
George Somero - Hopkins Marine Stationsomero@stanford.edu
Adaptation of Intertidal Animals to Thermal Stress Hopkins Marine Station
Time commitment: 10 weeks831-655-6243
2 positions available http://somero.stanford.edu/index.html
 
Virginia Walbotwalbot@stanford.edu
Anther development: mutational analysis and confocal microscopyHerrin 251
Time commitment: 10 weeks650-723-2227
2 positions available http://www.stanford.edu/~walbot/
 
Ward Watt wbwatt@stanford.edu
Evolutionary genomics of energy-processing genes Gilbert 406
Time commitment: 10 weeks 650-723-4297
1 position available  
 

Applications were due Tuesday, 2/15/11.