Five Foreign Scientists Conferred China International Science and Technology Cooperation Award


China honours five foreign scientists from the United States, Denmark, Japan and Canada for their contributions to Sino-foreign research cooperation on the award ceremony of China International Science and Technology Cooperation Award held in Beijing on Jan. 18, 2013.

Among the list are Richard N.Zare (United States), Flemming Besenbacher (Denmark), Lonnie Thompson (United States), Shin-ichi Kurokawa (Japan) and Michael L Phillips (Canada).

The International Scientific and Technological Cooperation Award of the People's Republic of China is a national science and technology award established by the State Council. It is granted to foreign scientists, engineers, managers, or organizations that have made important contributions to China's bilateral or multilateral scientific and technological cooperation.


Richard N. Zare (Image by CAS)

Richard N. Zare, Member of the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) and Foreign Member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), is the Marguerite Blake Wilbur Professor in Natural Science at Stanford University. He is renowned for his research in the area of laser chemistry, resulting in a greater understanding of chemical reactions at the molecular level.

Professor Zare helps bring forward the cooperation and communication between the science foundations of China and America during his term as Chairman of the National Science Board of the United States. He has trained a group of high-level Chinese research talents and co-authored 169 articles with Chinese researchers. 


Flemming Besenbacher  (Image by CAS)

Flemming Besenbacher is a full Professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy at the Faculty of Science and Director Interdisciplinary Nanoscience Center (iNANO), Aarhus University, Denmark.

He started his co-research from 1990 with the Institute of Chemistry, Chinese Academy of Sciences, and devotes himself in dual-culture of Sino-Denmark postgraduate students and joint research on nano technology of the two countries. Professor Besenbacher initiated the Sino-Danish Centre joint established by all Denmark's eight universities and the University of the Chinese Academy of Sciences; he also initiated the Sino-Denmak nano technology cooperation item between the science foundation of China and Denmark.


Lonnie Thompson (Image by CAS)

Lonnie Thompson is an American paleoclimatologist and professor in the School of Earth Sciences at The Ohio State University. A Member of the NAS and Foreign Member of the CAS, he has achieved global recognition for his drilling and analysis of ice cores from mountain glaciers and ice caps in the tropical and sub-tropical regions of the world.

He has trained several outstanding geoscientists for China and helps strengthen the power of China’s glacier and environmental research. He work as the academic deputy director with the Institute of Tibetan Plateau Research, CAS and promoted with Chinese scientists The Third Pole Environment (TPE) program. 


Shin-ichi Kurokawa (Image by CAS)

Shin-ichi Kurokawa, professor emeritus of KEK, and vice president of Cosylab, has fostered a cooperative relationship in accelerator science between China and Japan. Since the 1980s, he has been actively promoting academic cooperation and exchanges in science and technology, collaborating with Chinese researchers at the Institute of High Energy Physics (IHEP), the Shanghai Institute of Applied Physics and the University of Science and Technology of China, and the Institute of Modern Physics.

Kurokawa also helped IHEP to upgrade the Beijing Electron Positron Collider (BEPC) to a two-ring electron-positron collider, BEPC II, especially, transferring the superconducting accelerating technology used at the KEKB accelerator in Japan to China. He also served as a member of the Machine Advisory Committee for the BEPC II.


Michael L Phillips (Image by CAS)

Dr. Michael L Phillips is the Director of Shanghai Mental Health Center-Emory University Collaborative Center for Global Mental Health. He is also Executive Director of the Beijing Suicide Research and Prevention Center, the Executive Director of the World Health Organization Collaborating Center for Research and Training in Suicide Prevention.

He has spent the past 25 years conducting mental health research in China, and recently took on the challenging task of screening more than 60,000 people for mental disorders in four Chinese provinces. Dr. Phillips is a former International Clinical Epidemiology Network (INCLEN) liaison officer for China.


Copyright © 2002 - 2013 Chinese Academy of Sciences Email:

Add: 52 Sanlihe Rd., Beijing China Postcode: 100864
Tel: 86 10 68597289 Fax: 86 10 68512458