The Boxer Lab
Home       Videos     Contact
Former Boxer Lab Members
 
 
Paul Abbyad • Caroline Ajo-Franklin • Steven Andrews • Sayan Bagchi • Sriram Balasubramanian • Poul-Martin Bendix• Gerold Bublitz • Rod Bucks • Brett Carter • Mark Chan • Arun Chattopadhyay • Mita Chattoraj • Chris Chidsey • William Childs • Jessica Chuang Seeliger • Minsub Chung • Paul Cremer • Sean Decatur • Gia DePillis • Zinaida R. Deshayes • Alex de Winter • Keunbong Do •  Aaron Fafarman • Stefan Franzen • Stephen Fried • Prasad Ganesan • Josh Goldsmith • Bob Goldstein • Richard Goldstein • David Gottfried • Jay Groves • Oliver Hamto • Jennifer Hovis • Bob Hu Xiaohua Huang • Stephan Hug • Laura Hughes • Santosh Kumar Jha • Joe Johnson • Lance Kam • Tony Kanchanawong • Brad Katz • Kevin Kent • Brett King • Mary Kraft • Atsuo Kuki• Li Kung • Dave Lambright • Kaiqin Lao • Peter Lenz • Dave Lockhart • Carine Galli Marxer • Koit Mauring • Tim McAnaney • Betsy McCord • Kaleb Michaud • Tom Middendorf • Rick Moog • Laura Moore • Tatsuya Nabeshima • Houbi Nguyen • Pat O'Hara • Dennis Oh • Venessa Oklejas • Phil Pang • Eunice Park • Steven Perez • Dan Pierce • Melissa Ramser-Thomas • Bob Rawle • Mark Roelofs • Fred Rosell • Josh Salafsky • Xinghua Shi • Yoshi Shiro • Lisa Silverman • Robert Stanley • Martin Steffen • Jon Stocker • Ian Suydam • Alexander Szabo • Larry Takiff • Chiaki Treynor • Tom Treynor • Vivek Unni • Bettina van Lengerich • Alexander van Oudenaarden • Raghavan Varadarajan • Lauren Webb • James R. Williamson • Neal Woodbury • Lin Xu • Huilin Zhou
 
 
Paul Abbyad
Assistant Professor
Santa Clara University
pabbyad@gmail.com
Profile
 

Caroline Ajo-Franklin
Staff Scientist
Biological Nanostructures Facility
The Molecular Foundry
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
One Cyclotron Road, Bldg. 67, Room 5115
Berkeley, CA 94720
510-486-4299
CAjo-Franklin@lbl.gov
Research Interests

 

Steven Andrews
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
1100 Fairview Ave. N. A2-025
P.O. Box 19024
Seattle, WA 98109-1024
206-667-7007
sandrews@fhcrc.org
http://www.smoldyn.org/andrews/index.html

 
Sayan Bagchi
Senior Scientist
1705, Center for Mass Characterization
CSIR - National Chemical Laboratory
Dr. Homi Bhabha Road
Pune - 411008, India
Phone: +91-20-2590 3048 (Office)
s.bagchi@ncl.res.in
http://academic.ncl.res.in/ncl_1/profile/s.bagchi
 

Sriram Balasubramanian
Pharmacyclics
sbalasubramanian@pcyc.com

 
Poul-Martin Bendix
Niels Bohr Institute
Blegdamsve 17
DK-2100 Copenhagen Ø
bendix@nbi.dk
www.nbi.dk/~bendix
Poul at work.
 
Gerold Bublitz
Reemtsma
Hamburg, Germany
Gerold_Bublitz@stanfordalumni.org
 
Rod Bucks
Eastman Kodak
Elmgrove Plant 585-253-1333
rodney.bucks@kodak.com
rodbucks@rochester.rr.com
 
Brett Carter
thecarter.brett@gmail.com
 
Mark Chan
Postdoctoral Fellow
Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics
University of California-San Francisco
Marshall Lab
600 16th St., Box 2200
San Francisco, CA 94158
Phone: 415-514-4304
yhmchan@gmail.com
 
Arun Chattopadhyay
Professor & Head, Centre for Nanotechnology, IIT, Guwahati
arun@iitg.ernet.in
Research page
 
Mita Chattoraj
Research Scientist at Nalco Chemical
mchattoraj@nalco.com
 
Chris Chidsey
Associate Professor of Chemistry, Stanford University
chidsey@stanford.edu
Research Interests
 
William Childs
Engineer at Sklar Exploration
Shreveport, Louisiana
wmchilds@gmail.com
William winks.
 
Jessica Chuang Seeliger
Assistant Professor
Department of Pharmacology
Stony Brook University
BST 8-140
Stony Brook, NY 11794-8651
jcs@pharm.stonybrook.edu
Research Page
 

Minsub Chung
Assistant Professor
Department of Chemical Engineering
Hongik University
Mapo-gu, Seoul, 121-791, Korea
minsubc@hongik.ac.kr

 
Paul Cremer
Professor of Chemistry
Dept. of Chemistry
Penn State University
psc11@psu.edu
Research Page
 
Sean Decatur
President
Kenyon College
http://www.kenyon.edu/about-kenyon/office-of-the-president/
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sean_M._Decatur
 
Gia dePillis
Staff Scientist, Chiron
gia_depillis@chiron.com
 
Zinaida R. Deshayes
Criminalist
Department of Justice/Division of Law Enforcement Bureau of Forensic Services
Jan Bashinski DNA Laboratory
1001 West Cutting Blvd.
Richmond, CA 94804
Phone: 510-620-3300
Fax: 510-231-8744
 

Alex de Winter
Director
Healthymagination Fund GE Ventures
2882 Sand Hill Road
Menlo Park, CA 94025
Alex.deWinter@ge.com

 
Keunbong Do
Senior Research Scientist
Samsung Cheil Industries
Chung-ang dong, 20-11 (1st floor)
(Huimang 3-gil 13)
Gyeonggi-do, Gwacheon city (427-010)
South Korea
kbd0810@gmail.com
 
Aaron Fafarman
Assistant Professor
Drexel University
Chemical & Biological Engineering Dept.
fafarman@drexel.edu
Fafarman Research Group
Aaron under the influence of liquid nitrogen.
 
Stefan Franzen
Professor of Chemistry
North Carolina State University
Stefan_Franzen@ncsu.edu
Franzen Research Group
 
Stephen Fried
Junior Research Fellow of King's College, Cambridge
MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology
Francis Crick Avenue
Cambridge, CB2 0QH, UK
sdfried@gmail.com
 
Prasad Ganesan
Director, Products
C3 Energy
https://www.linkedin.com/pub/prasad-ganesan/8/3a1/ba2
pganesan@gmail.com
 
Josh Goldsmith
Business Development Director
Esoterix Clinical Trials Services
National Genetics Institute
Laboratory Corporation of America
2440 S. Sepulveda Blvd. #235
Los Angeles, CA 90064
Phone: (310) 689-4929 x 4902
jgoldsmith@ngi.com
 
Bob Goldstein
Head
Network Services Group
University of Illinois at Chicago
Computer Center (MC-135)
1940 West Taylor
Chicago, IL 60612-7352
Phone: (312) 996-6664
bobg@uic.edu
 
Richard A. Goldstein
Division of Infection and Immunity
University College, London
London, WC1E 6BT, UK
r.goldstein@ucl.ac.uk
 
David S. Gottfried
Senior Research Scientist
Nanotechnology Research Center
Georgia Tech
Atlanta, GA 30332
Ph: 404-894-0479
david.gottfried@nrc.gatech.edu
 
Jay Groves
Professor of Chemistry
Department of Chemistry
UC Berkeley
Berkeley, CA 94720
Phone 510-666-3602
jtgroves@lbl.gov
Group Webpage
 
Oliver Hamto
Oceanside, California
ohamto@gmail.com
Oliver
 

Jennifer Hovis
Senior Scientist
Genia
jennifer@geniachip.com

 
Bob Hu
JM Cohen & Co.
70 E 55th Street, 16th Floor
New York, NY 10022
Work: 212-688-3355 x114
hub@jmcohen.com
 
Xiaohua Huang
Associate Professor
Department of Bioengineering
University of California-San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive, 0412
La Jolla, CA 92093
Phone: 858-822-2155
Fax: 858-534-5722
x2huang@ucsd.edu
Research Page
 
Stephan Hug
Department of Water Resources and Drinking Water
EAWAG
CH-8600 Duebendorf, Switzerland
Phone: 41-44-823-5454
Fax: 41-44-823-5210
stephan.hug@eawag.ch
http://homepages.eawag.ch/~hug/
 
Laura Hughes
AAAS Science and Technology Policy Fellow
USAID, Center for Data, Analytics, and Research
laura.d.hughes@gmail.com
Laura
 
Santosh Kumar Jha
Assistant Professor (AcSIR) & Senior Scientist
Physical and Materials Chemistry Division
F-101, PAML Building
CSIR-National Chemical Laboratory
Dr. Homi Bhabha Road
Pune 411008, India
Telephone: 91-20-25902588
sk.jha@ncl.res.in
santoshncbs@gmail.com
http://santoshjha.webs.com/ http://academic.ncl.res.in/sk.jha
Santosh
 
Joe Johnson
Senior Scientist
SBH Sciences
4 Strathmore Road
Natick, MA 01760
Phone: 508-650-6218
josephj@gmail.com
http://www.sbhsciences.com
 
Lance Kam
Associate Professor
Biomedical Engineering
Columbia University
351 Engineering Terrace
1210 Amsterdam Avenue, MC 8904
New York, NY 10027
Office: 212-854-8611
Fax: 212-854-8725
lk2141@columbia.edu
Profile
Group Webpage
 

Pakorn (Tony) Kanchanawong
Assistant Professor, Division of Bioengineering
Principal Investigator, Mechanobiology Institute
National University of Singapore
Level 9, T-Lab
5A Engineering Drive 1
Singapore 117411
Phone: 65-6601-8991
Fax: 65-6872-6123
biekp@nus.edu.sg
Research Page

 
Brad Katz
Staff Scientist
Amgen
 
Kevin Kent
Senior Analytical Chemist
Sigma-Aldrich Fine Chemicals
Lenexa, KS
kevinpatrickkent@gmail.com
 

Brett King
Assistant Professor
Department of Dermatology
Yale School of Medicine
brett.aking@gmail.com
www.dermatology.yale.edu/people/brett_king.profile

 
Mary Kraft
Assistant Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering
University of Illinois
600 S. Mathews Ave,. MC-712
Urbana, IL 61801
phone: 217-333-2228
fax: 217-333-5052
Research Group Website
mlkraft@illinois.edu
 
Atsuo Kuki
Chief Technology Officer
Frederick National Laboratory
operated for the NCI, as the nation's first national laboratory from the NIH
Frederick, MD, USA
(301) 228-4905
atsuokuki@gmail.com
 
Li Kung
Gen9, Inc.
Suite 130
500 Technology Square
Cambridge, MA 02139
liakung@gmail.com
 

Dave Lambright
Professor
University of Massachusetts Medical School
Program in Molecular Medicine
David.Lambright@umassmed.edu
Research Page

 
Kaiqin Lao
Principal Scientist
Molecular Cell Biology, Applied Biosystems
part of Life Technologies
850 Lincoln Centre Drive
Foster City, CA 94404
(650) 554-2923
Kai.Lao@lifetech.com
 
Peter Lenz
Professor of Physics
Fachbereich Physik
Renthof 6
35032 Marburg/Lahn
Tel.: +49 6421 282-4326
Fax: +49 6421 282-4291
Peter.Lenz@physik.uni-marburg.de
Webpage
 

David Lockhart
Chief Scientific Officer
Ambit Therapeutics, Inc.
davidlockhart3000@yahoo.com

 
Carine Galli Marxer
Project manager in Knowledge and Technology Transfer (KTT)
The innovation promotion agency CTI
Federal Department of Economic Affairs FDEA
Switzerland
carine@carinegalli.ch
http://www.carinegalli.ch

www.kti-cti.ch
 
Koit Mauring
Institute of Physics
Estonian SSR Academy of Science
Riia 142, 202400 Tartu, Estonia
mauring@fi.tartu.ee
 

Laura Mazzola
Senior Vice President
Global Initiatives
Wave 80 Biosciences
San Francisco, CA

 

Tim McAnaney
Consultant at Mars & Co.

 
Elizabeth (Betsy) Forrester McCord
Staff Scientist
Dupont, Inc.
514 Hemlock Drive
Hockession, Delaware 19707
302-234-1606
elizabeth.f.mccord@usa.dupont.com
 
Kaleb Michaud
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Section of Rheumatology & Immunology
986270 Nebraska Medical Center
Omaha, NE 68198-6270
Work: 402-559-7239
Fax: 402-559-2466
kmichaud@unmc.edu
http://www.arthritis-research.org/
 
Tom Middendorf
The University of Texas at Austin | The School of Biological Sciences
The Section of Neurobiology | The Center for Learning and Memory
middie@mail.clm.utexas.edu
 
Rick Moog
Professor
Department of Chemistry
Franklin and Marshall College
Lancaster, PA 1704-3003
Phone: 717-291-3804
Fax: 717-291-4343
rick.moog@fandm.edu
http://www.fandm.edu/rick-moog
 
Laura Moore
Professor of Chemistry
Monmouth College
Phone: 309-457-2209
lmoore@monm.edu
http://rotini.monmsci.net:8080/~lmoore/
 

Tatsuya Nabeshima
Professor University of Tsukuba
Graduate School of Pure and Applied Sciences
Graduate School of Pure and Applied Sciences Frontier Science
nabesima@chem.tsukuba.ac.jp
http://www.chem.tsukuba.ac.jp/nabesima/index_E.html

 
Houbi Nguyen
Consultant
houbidoobie@gmail.com
 
Pat O'Hara
Amanda and Lisa Cross Professor of Chemistry
502 Merrill Science Center
Amherst College
Amherst, MA 01002
Office Phone: 413-542-2732
Cell: 413-687-57622
pbohara@amherst.edu
https://www.amherst.edu/people/facstaff/pbohara
 
Dennis Oh
Associate Professor of Dermatology
University of California, San Francisco
Dermatology Service, VAMC 190
4150 Clement Street, San Francisco, CA 94121
Phone: (415) 750-2091
Fax: (415) 750-2106
ohd@derm.ucsf.edu
http://www.dermatology.ucsf.edu/faculty_staff/StaffBios/OhDennis.aspx
 
Vanessa Oklejas
The Aerospace Corporation
voklejas@ucsd.edu
 
Phil Pang
Giliead, Inc.
phillip.pang@stanfordalumni.org
 
Eunice Park
H3 Biomedicine
espark@gmail.com
http://www.h3biomedicine.com
 
Steven Perez
esteban@stanfordalumni.org
 
Dan Pierce
Cytokinetics, Inc.
280 East Grand Avenue
South San Francisco, CA 94080
Tel: 650-624-3000
Fax: 650-624-3010
http://www.cytokinetics.com/
 
Melissa Ramser Thomas
Staff Scientist
Amgen Mountain View, Inc.
2450 Bayshore Parkway, Suite 200
Mountain View, CA 94043
Tel: 650-244-3133
Fax: 650-965-2604
methomas@amgen.com
http://www.amgen.com//flash/index.php
 
Bob Rawle
Postdoc
Lab of Dr. Peter Kasson
Dept. of Molecular Physiology and Biological Physics
University of Virginia School of Medicine
bob.rawle@gmail.com
Vesicle extrusion.
 
Mark Roelofs
Staff Scientist
Dupont Central Research Lab
Mark.G.Roelofs@USA.dupont.com
 
Fred Rosell
Lab Manager
Dept. of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
University of British Columbia
2146 Health Sciences Mall
Vancouver, BC
Canada V6T 1Z3
(604) 822-3178
fir@interchange.ubc.ca
http://www.lmb.ubc.ca/spectroscopy.html
 
Miguel Saggu
Associate Scientist
Genentech
South San Francisco, CA
miguel.saggu@gmail.com
Miguel and the NMR
 
 

Josh Salafsky
Founder, CEO
Biodesy, LLC
Burlingame, CA
650-552-9690
salafsky@biodesy.com
www.biodesy.com

 
Xinghua Shi
Postdoctoral Fellow
Taekjip Ha Lab
Department of Physics and Institute for Genomic Biology
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
xhshi@illinois.edu
http://bio.physics.illinois.edu/
 
Yoshi Shiro
Professor
RIKEN SPring-8 Center
Harima Institute
Sayo, Hyogo 679-5148, Japan
yshiro@postman.riken.go.jp
 
Lisa (Perlson) Silverman
Patent Attorney
Morrison & Foerster
San Diego, CA
lsilverman@mofo.com
 
Robert Stanley
Professor
Department of Chemistry
Temple University
Beury Hall 130
1901 N. 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19122
office: 215-204-2027
fax: 215-204-0478
lab: 215-204-7114, -6320
robert.stanley@temple.edu
http://www.temple.edu/chemistry/directory/faculty/stanley/
 

Martin Steffen
Assistant Professor
Dept of Genetics & Genomics Dept. of Biomedical Engineering
Boston University School of Medicine
Room 637, Evans Bldg
Boston MA, 02118
617-414-7935 (ph)
617-414-1646 (fax)
steffen@bu.edu
http://steffen.bu.edu

 
Jon Stocker
Director, Clinical Development
ICAgen, Inc.
4222 Emperor Blvd., Suite 460
Durham, NC 27703
jstocker@icagen.com
http://icagen.com
 
Ian Suydam
Assistant Professor
Seattle University
Department of Chemistry
206-910-1676 (cell)
suydami@seattleu.edu
 

Alexander Szabo
Head of Business Development
Circadian Technologies, Ltd.

 
Larry Takiff
Senior Staff Scientist
ICx Technologies
 

Chiaki (Yoshina-Ishii) Treynor
GlassPoint, Inc.
chiaki@gmail.com
www.glasspoint.com

 
Tom Treynor
Staff Scientist
Amyris
ttreynor@gmail.com
Research page
 
Vivek Unni
Assistant Professor of Neurology
Jungers Center for Neurosciences Research & Parkinson Center of Oregon
Oregon Health and Science University
Portland, OR
unni@ohsu.edu
http://www.ohsu.edu/xd/research/centers-institutes/neurology/jungers-center/research/unni-lab.cfm
 
Bettina van Lengerich
Postdoctoral Fellow
University of California-San Francisco
vanlengerich@gmail.com
Docking... and Fusion.
 

Alexander van Oudenaarden
Professor in Biomedical Engineering and Professor of Physics
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Cambridge, MA 02139
Phone: (617) 253-4446
Fax: (617) 258-6883
avano@mit.edu
Research Page
http://www.hubrecht.eu/research/vanoudenaarden/

 
Raghavan Varadarajan
Professor
Molecular Biophysics Unit
Indian Institute of Science
Bangalore 560012, India
ph: +91 80 22932612
fax: +91 80 23600535, +91 80 23600683
varadar@mbu.iisc.ernet.in
http://mbu.iisc.ernet.in/~rvgrp/
 
Lauren Webb
Assistant Professor
The University of Texas at Austin
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
1 University Station A5300, WEL 3.420
Austin, TX 78712
Phone: 512-471-9361
lwebb@cm.utexas.edu
http://webb.cm.utexas.edu/research/
 
James R. Williamson
Professor
Department of Molecular Biology and The Skaggs Institute for Chemical Biology
The Scripps Research Institute, MB-33
10550 North Torrey Pines Road
La Jolla, CA 92037
Office: 858-784-8740
Fax: 858-784-2199
Lab: 858-784-8743
jrwill@scripps.edu
http://williamson.scripps.edu
Lab Assistant: Fiona Larmour, 858-784-8741, fiona@scripps.edu
 
Neal Woodbury
Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Arizona State University
Tempe, AZ 85287-1604
Tel: 602-965-3294
FAX: 602-965-2747
NWoodbury@asu.edu
Research Page
 
Lin Xu
Process Engineer
Applied Materials, Inc.
xulinpku@gmail.com
 
Huilin Zhou
Associate Professor
Department of Cellular and Molecular Medicine
University of California-San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive, CMM-East, Room #3050
La Jolla, CA 92093-0660
Office Phone: 858-534-7802
Lab Phone: 858-534-7808
Fax: 858-534-7750
huzhou@ucsd.edu
http://www.ludwigsd.org/labs/proteomic_biology/
     
The Boxer LaboratoryStanford UniversityDepartment of Chemistry • 380 Roth Way, Stanford, California, 94305-5012 • (650) 723-4482
Questions about this website may be directed to Debra Frank. • Website updated July 2014.