Stanford Associated Religions

Stanford Associated Religions (SAR)

The Office for Religious Life oversees and provides support for Stanford Associated Religions (SAR), some 40 religious organizations invited to offer their spiritual services to the campus. All SAR organizations, individual members and advisors pledge:

(a) to promote the moral and spiritual growth of the Stanford University community;

(b) to support Stanford’s steady exercise of free inquiry and its pursuit of the highest standards of intellectual and moral excellence;

(c) to represent that group and its purposes forthrightly, while at the same time treating with respect the religious traditions and activities of others; and

(d) to safeguard the religious freedom, human dignity, conscience and personal spiritual welfare of all members of the university.

In addition to the groups that comprise SAR, roughly a dozen student religious organizations affiliate only through the Office of Student Activities.

SAR Directory

Directory Key:

SP: Student President
A: Advisor

 


BAHA’I

Baha’i Association at Stanford
bahai.stanford.edu
bahais-owner@lists.stanford.edu
SP: Nabil Wessel, nwessel@stanford.edu, 928-379-3376
A: Paul Khavari, khavari@stanford.edu, 650-867-0812
The aim of the Baha’i Association at Stanford is to dialogue with individuals and groups who are interested in asking questions about the nature of man and society. We provide a unique function at the university by creating a forum for the open and frank discussion of issues, without party political bias or doctrinal prejudice.

 


BUDDHIST

Buddhist Community at Stanford (BCAS)
bcas.stanford.edu
bcas-meditation@lists.stanford.edu
SP: Simon Wiles, sjwiles@stanford.edu, 650-646-8994
A: Dr. Irene Lin, ihl@stanford.edu, 650-721-6609; Paul Harrison, paulh@stanford.edu
The Buddhist Community at Stanford is an ecumenical group dedicated to creating a supportive community for Buddhist study and practice. We welcome experienced Buddhists from different traditions as well as people who are exploring.

World Peace Buddhists (WPB)
wpb.stanford.edu
buddhists@list.stanford.edu
SP: Victoria Yeow, victoriayeow@stanford.edu. 650-283-7741
A: Nora Richardson, richardson_nora@gsb.stanford.edu, 650-465-2317
WPB is a group of Stanford students practicing Nichiren Daishonin’s Buddhism. WPB members are interested in promoting peace, culture and education on campus and in the community based on Buddhist principles. Most members are a part of Soka Gakkai International.


CHRISTIAN

Acts 2 Christian Fellowship (A2CF)
facebook.com/Acts2ChristianFellowshipStanford
SP: Scott Fong, swfong@stanford.edu, 408-483-2656
A: Jason Bau, jasonbau@gmail.com, 408-896-7725;  Amy Ng, amybau@gmail.com, 650-796-8639 ; Timothy Yoo, timyoo87@yahoo.com, 408-314-4703
A2 at Stanford is a Christian group that meets together to grow in our relationship with Jesus Christ through Bible studies, prayer, and koinonia (fellowship). At our meetings you’ll find us singing, laughing, eating, and talking about issues relevant to Christians in college.

Adventist Christian Fellowship

www.facebook.com/groups/stanfordacf/

SP: Dylan Dawkins, dylandad@stanford.edu, 760-681-9566

Adventist Christian Fellowship is to be a Bible-based community of faith on the Stanford campus that is a witness to God’s character of love as revealed most fully in Christ and in His Law. ACF encourages individuals to experience and share the Gospel’s transformative power found in a daily walk with Jesus.

 

Catholic Community at Stanford (CCAS)
catholic.stanford.edu
SP: Kelley Gomez, kjgomez@stanford.edu, 949-614-3411
A: Fr. Xavier Lavagetto, O.P., xavierop@stanford.edu, 650-723-2490, Fr. Emmanuel Taylor, O.P., e4op@stanford.edu; Lourdes Alonso, lalonso@stanford.edu, 650-723-2490; Teresa Pleins, tpleins@stanford.edu
The Catholic Community at Stanford is group that hosts events to promote community, learning about the Catholic faith, forming the Christian conscience, educating for justice, facilitating personal development and developing leaders.

Chi Alpha Christian Fellowship (XA)
xastanford.org
chialpha@stanford.edu
SP: Albert Wandui, awandui@stanford.edu, 650-739-9235
A: Rev. Glen Davis, glen.davis@gmail.com, 650-353-7740; Jeff Strnad, jstrnd@stanford.edu, 650-723-9674
Chi Alpha (XA) is a community of students earnestly following Jesus. XA gatherings are informal, charged with music, given to humor and deal with everything from relationships to the nature of truth. XA is sponsored by the Assemblies of God, and we welcome all visitors!

Chinese Campus Evangelistic Fellowship (CCEF)
sites.google.com/a/chinesecef.org/stanford/
stanfordcef2@gmail.com
SP: Nuoya Yang , nyyang@stanford.edu, 650-391-5089
A: Dr. Charles M.C. Lee, professor.lee@gmail.com, 925-286-0540; Weijing Zhu, weijingzhu@gmail.com, 408-489-7453
Chinese Campus Evangelistic Fellowship (CCEF) is a Christian student organization at Stanford. We believe that Jesus Christ is not only our Savior but also the Lord of our lives.

Christian Science Organization (CSO)
stanford.edu/group/christianscience
stanfordcso@gmail.com
SP: David Hyde, dabh@stanford.edu, 650-793-2222
The Christian Science Organization invites the campus community to join us in our study of the Bible and Jesus’s teachings, as well as our textbook, as we meet weekly to read from these books, sing hymns, pray, and share healings we are actively experiencing as followers of Christ.

Christian Students
stanfordchristianstudents@gmail.com
SP: Albert Feng, alfeng6@stanford.edu
A: Jeff Chang, jeffrey.cc.chang@gmail.com
Christian Students is a Stanford University student organization meeting on campus since 1992. We share the Christian faith and believe that the Bible is the word of God. Christian Students believe that God the Father, the Son, and the Spirit, became a man, Jesus Christ.

Cornerstone (CSTONE)
SP: Thomas Plank, tplank@stanford.edu, 303-720-0111
A: Abby McHugh, amchugh@mppc.org, 360-789-6822
Cornerstone is the college ministry of Menlo Park Presbyterian Church. Members are committed to becoming students of Jesus individually and within community. Core values involve the practice of spiritual disciplines and the pursuit of Biblical knowledge

Episcopal Lutheran Campus Ministry (ELCM)
elcm.stanford.edu
elcm-peer-ministers@lists.stanford.edu
SP: Stacy Krost, skrost@stanford.edu, 401-862-7529
A: Rev. Greg Schaefer, prgreg@stanford.edu, 650-857-9660; Rev. Andrew Shamel, revandy@stanford.edu, 858-774-0264; Pastor Geoff Browning, geoff.browning@stanford.edu, 650-868-4241
ELCM is a Christian community of Episcopal, Lutheran, and other faith-seeking students. Members meet for worship, fellowship, topical discussions, and community service. Members are a progressive, LGBT-friendly community.

Fellowship of Christian Athletes in Action
elcm.stanford.edu
SP: Adrian Alabi, aalabi11@stanford.edu, 404-644-9757
A: Jon Easterhaus, jon.easterhaus@athletesinaction.org, 817-773-7725
FCAIA is a group of Stanford students committed to encouraging, equipping and empowering student-athletes, coaches and all whom they influence to live out their faith freely within the athletic community and to grow and prosper in a relationship with Jesus Christ and then use this relationship to positively impact others throughout campus. We believe that being a Christian is about having a personal relationship with God through Jesus Christ, and that true-life purpose and meaning can be found only in personal relationship with Jesus Christ.

Grace Campus Ministries (GCM)
gracecampusministries.org
gracecampusministries@gmail.com
SP: Aaron Holsteen, holsteen@stanford.edu, 720-233-3182
A: Dr. Derek Brown, dbrown@gbfsv.org, 502-7273826
Grace Campus Ministries is a college-age group associated with Grace Bible Fellowship, a Christian church in the Silicon Valley. GCM exists for the purpose of proclaiming the good news of Jesus Christ, teaching the Bible, making disciples, and training future leaders on Stanford campus.

International Students Christian Outreach (ISCO)
stanford.edu/group/isco/
SP: Marc Deetjen,   mdeetjen@stanford.edu, 630-388-8468
A: Rev. Steven Long Ed. D.O.L., slong2@stanford.edu, 408-702-5163; Rev. Victoria Long, vlong@stanford.edu, 408-702-5163
ISCO is a ministry focused on helping international students and their families to thrive at Stanford by providing supportive relationships, activities, classes, cultural experiences, Bible studies, Christian mentoring, and the Good News of Jesus Christ.

InterVarsity Christian Fellowship, Undergrad (IVCF)
ivstanford.org
SP: Austin Killin, akillin@stanford.edu, 970-520-6993
A: Tom Bowman, ctbowman@stanford.edu, 808-371-2044; Age Lock, agelock@gmail.com. 808-371-2044
InterVarsity Christian Fellowship is an interdenominational, multi-ethnic evangelical Christian ministry to campuses in the U.S. and abroad. IVCF at Stanford members are committed to growing in their knowledge and understanding of Jesus and sharing that experience with those around them.

InterVarsity Graduate Christian Fellowship (IVGRAD)
stanford.edu/group/ivgrad/
ivgrad-steering@lists.stanford.edu
SP: Simon Anastasiadis, simons@stanford.edu, 650-417-5965
A: Wendy Quay, wendy.quay@googlemail.com, 650-391-6864; Yang Wu, hwu2@stanford.edu, 650-724-7608
IVGRAD is the graduate chapter of InterVarsity Christian Fellowship. Members seek to follow Christ by living out their vision of spiritual formation, building community, witness and service, and the integration of faith and learning.

Korean Bible Study and Koinonia
SP: Ji-Eun Jung, jejung@stanford.edu
A:Jaeho Chung, jaeho.chung.jc@gmail.com
Korean Bible Study gathers weekly to study bible in Korean. We share food, then have praise time. We then have a discussion time on a specific topic or passages from the bible.

Latter-Day Saint Student Association (LDSSA)
web.stanford.edu/group/ldssa
SP: Catherine Holding, cholding@stanford.edu, 801-935-0070
A: Jeremy Hunt, huntjj@ldschurch.org, 415-439-3916; Garth Rasmussen RasmussenGL@ldschurch.org (702) 327-3433
LDSSA is designed to promote faith in Christ, spirituality, growth, and friendship among Latter-day Saints and their friends on campus through classes, discussions, service, and social activities.

Oasis Campus Ministry
pbc.org/ekklesia
SP: Nina Jimenez, ninaj2@stanford.edu, 775-901-2300
A: Scott Grant, scott_grant@pbc.org, 650-224-4712; Elizabeth Cooledge, liz_cooledge@pbc.org, 425-671-5721
Oasis is the on-campus college ministry that is connected with Peninsula Bible Church in Palo Alto. Oasis’ vision is to live life together as a community of brothers and sisters in Christ, loving God with all our heart, mind, soul, and strength, and loving others as ourselves. Oasis seeks to connect deeply with one another, sharing our struggles and joys and experiencing transformation in God together; to encourage and challenge one another to grow in our relationship with Christ and to deepen our understanding of His Word, the Bible; to serve and learn from our broader multigenerational church family at Peninsula Bible Church (PBC); and to empower one another to contribute to our community, the campus, and the world with the unique gifts and passions God has given each person. Oasis believes that the Spirit of God is actively at work in and around us, and we rely on this Spirit daily for unity, depth, and growth. Oasis desires for our campus to experience the hope and new life available to everyone through the love of God as revealed in the life, death, and resurrection of Christ.

Orthodox Christian Fellowship at Stanford (OCF)
ocf.stanford.edu
SP: Konstantine Buhler, buhler@stanford.edu, 847-571-1845
A: Fr. John Kocolas, jkocolas@goholycross.org, (209) 988-2718
OCF is a pan-Orthodox organization dedicated to exploring the Orthodox Christian faith, fostering spiritual growth for Orthodox Christians, and exposing the campus to the faith, cultures, and customs that are uniquely Orthodox. OCF is a dynamic group of students from many different backgrounds who share a common desire to learn more about the 2000-year traditions of the Orthodox Church. All those interested in learning about Orthodoxy, including non-Orthodox, are welcome!

Parakaleo Christian Ministries
parakaleo.stanford.edu
SP: Timothy Le, tle7@stanford.edu, 770-402-3438
A: Steve & Erica Lawry, lawry@stanford.edu, 650-815-5293
Parakaleo Christian Ministries is a student group focused on teaching the foundations of Biblical counseling. Parakaleo offers a three-quarter course on Biblical counseling with the goal of teaching students to apply God’s written word to their own daily life issues and relationships, and equipping them to counsel others from the Bible under the guidance and empowering of the Holy Spirit.

Progressive Christians at Stanford (PC@S)
uccm.stanford.edu
progressive-christians@lists.stanford.edu
SP: Jackie Fielder, jackie4@stanford.edu, 562-313-2324
PL: Rev. Geoff Browning, geoff.browning@stanford.edu, 650-868-4241; Rev. Greg Schaefer, prgreg@stanford.edu, 510-847-1475
Progressive Christians @ Stanford is a Christian fellowship interested in issues of social justice and taking action through community service. PC@S welcome seekers, questioners, doubters, believers and mystics. PC@S is a LGBT-welcoming community. PC@S is sponsored by the United Methodist, Presbyterian (PCUSA), United Church of Christ (Congregational), and American Baptist denominations.

Reformed University Fellowship (RUF)
rufstanford.org
SP: Andrew Vogeley, avogeley@stanford.edu, 832-215-5628
A: Britton Wood, bwood@ruf.org, 205-960-3357; Elizabeth Wood, 205-948-4528
RUF is affiliated with the Presbyterian Church in America (PCA). RUF is a Christian fellowship on campus at Stanford University. Members seek to be a place for the convinced and the unconvinced to come and consider the teachings of Jesus and enjoy the community of Christ Followers.

ReJOYce In Jesus Campus Fellowship (RJCF)
rjcfstanford.org
contact@rjcfstanford.org
SP: Folake Ogunbanwo, folakeo@stanford.edu, 650-704-5792
A: Valesha Jones, foolsforchrist@msn.com, 650-327-9689
Charismatic Christian on-campus fellowship that is designed to bring people to a deeper and more intimate relationship with Jesus Christ, and conform people to the image of Christ. This is done through a weekly Bible study with Praise and Worship, and fellowship.

 

HINDU

Hindu Students Association (HSA)
hindu.stanford.edu
SP: Vignesh Ganapathi Subramanian, vigansub@stanford.edu, 650-387-7535
A: Linda Hess, lionda@stanford.edu, 650-725-9732
Open to all members of the Stanford Community, HSA seeks to spread awareness of Hindu philosophy, culture, and values through invited speaker seminars, philosophy discussion groups, and celebrations during Diwali, Holi, etc.

INTERFAITH

Queerituality
queerituality@lists.stanford.edu
SP: Kent Black, kmblake@stanford.edu, 320-260-4482
A: Rev. Joanne Sanders, revjojo@stanford.edu, 650-725-0090, 617-230-3358; Geoff Browning, geoff.browning@stanford.edu, 650-868-4241
Queerituality (formerly known as the Stanford LGBTQ-Religious Leadership Roundtable) is a group of students, staff, faculty, and clergy who are working to build bridges between LGBTQ (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer/Questioning), spiritual and/or religious individuals and communities at Stanford. Our goals include educating the Stanford community, creating dialogue, and supporting students around issues of religious, spiritual, and LGBTQ identities.

 

ISLAM

Ismaili Students Association at Stanford (ISAS)
suismailis@stanford.edu
SP: Alisha Adam, aadam@stanford.edu, 650-798-4114
A: Nadeem Karmali, nadeemk@stanford.edu, 510-333-6791
The Ismaili Student Association at Stanford aims to provide social, educational and religious programming for Ismaili students and to increase the awareness and understanding of the Ismaili Muslim faith in the Stanford community at large.

Muslim Student Union at Stanford (MSU)
msu-officers@lists.stanford.edu
SP: Soumeya Kerrar, Soumeyak@stanford.edu, 415-573-7666
A: Nancy Howe, nanoid@stanford.eud, 650.723.2733
The Muslim Student Union at Stanford’s mission is to foster a spiritually nurturing, tolerant, and inclusive Muslim community at Stanford University which promotes the spiritual growth of all Muslim students, faculty, and staff at Stanford, to engage with the broader Stanford community and critically examine all issues pertaining to Muslim identity, culture, history, peoples, societies, politics, and the intersections therein, and to serve as a coherent and representative voice for Muslim students, faculty, and staff  at Stanford University.

 


JEWISH

Jewish Student Association (JSA)
jewish.stanford.edu
SP: Emma Nelman, enelman@stanford.edu, 631-974-7038
A: Rabbi Daniel Raphael Silverstein, danielrs@stanford.edu, 570.223.4333
The JSA strives to provide fun and inclusive social, cultural, and educational programming for the entire Jewish community on campus, as well as anyone else interested. JSA’s main goals are to help people meet each other, identify with Jewish heritage, and engage Jewishly.

L’Chayim Club: Chabad at Stanford (Chabad)
chabadstanford.org
SP: Joseph Shayani, jshayani@stanford.edu, 347-805-5633
Advisor: Rabbi Dov Greenberg, info@chabadstanford.org, 650-387-4145
L’Chayim Club: Chabad at Stanford is a vibrant Jewish student organization that is dedicated to sharing the warmth, wisdom and depth of Judaism in an exciting, non-judgmental fashion.

 


SIKH

Sikh Students Association at Stanford (SSAS)
SP:Preet Hayer, ikaur@stanford.edu, 209-648-9483
A: Ravinder Dhillon, dhillon40@gmail.com, 510-224-4549
SSAS seeks to foster cultural and social awareness about Sikhism to the entire community. Major activities include the annual Lohri celebration event held in early Winter quarter, as well as cultural and religious events held throughout the year and open to the public, such as the weekly prayer sessions.

Zoroastrians
Cardinal Zoroastrians (Card Z)
SP:Hormazd Godrej, hormazd@stanford.edu, 650-656-7783
A: Yuhan Vevaina, vevaina@stanford.edu, 650-723-2168; Virsis Billimoria, vickyb@stanford.edu, 650-723-0377
Card Z’s goal is to provide a community for students who follow Zoroastrianism and students who are interested in Zoroastrianism. Our activities include lectures and seminars that promote an understanding of Zoroastrianism, celebrations of traditional Zoroastrian festivals, and fun retreats to off-campus locations in order to build a sense of community among our members.