Stanford Assoc. Religions

Stanford Associated Religions (SAR)

The Office for Religious Life oversees and provides support for Stanford Associated Religions (SAR), some 40 religious organizations invited to offer their spiritual services to the campus. All SAR organizations, individual members and advisors pledge:

(a) to promote the moral and spiritual growth of the Stanford University community;

(b) to support Stanford’s steady exercise of free inquiry and its pursuit of the highest standards of intellectual and moral excellence;

(c) to represent that group and its purposes forthrightly, while at the same time treating with respect the religious traditions and activities of others; and

(d) to safeguard the religious freedom, human dignity, conscience and personal spiritual welfare of all members of the university.

In addition to the groups that comprise SAR, roughly a dozen student religious organizations affiliate only through the Office of Student Activities.

SAR Directory

Directory Key:

SP: student president
A: advisor
PL: professional leader

ATHEIST
Atheists, Humanists, and Agnostics at Stanford (AHA!)
http://aha.stanford.edu/
atheists@stanford.edu
SP: Armand Rundquist, armandhr@stanford.edu, 435-713-5343
PL: Jonathan Figdor, jfigdor@stanford.edu, 914-954-3276
A: Franco Moretti, moretti@stanford.edu, 650-723-4590
AHA! at Stanford holds discussion meetings, social events, movie screenings, and much more, to support the interests of nonreligious students. AHA! also organizes larger educational events, such as guest lectures, of more general interest to the university community. All events are open to anyone. Friendly and respectful dialogue with religious students and student organizations is welcome.

 


BAHA’I
Baha’i Association
http://web.stanford.edu/group/bahai/
bahais-owner@lists.stanford.edu
SP: Berkeley Churchill, bchurchill@stanford.edu, 425-205-7079
A: Paul Khavari, khavari@stanford.edu
The aim of the Baha’i Association at Stanford is to dialogue with individuals and groups who are interested in asking questions about the nature of man and society. BAHAI provides a unique function at the university by creating a forum for the open and frank discussion of issues, without party political bias or doctrinal prejudice.

 


BUDDHIST
Buddhist Community Association at Stanford (BCAS)
http://web.stanford.edu/group/bcas/
bcas-meditation@lists.stanford.edu
SP: Simon Wiles, sjwiles@stanford.edu, 650-646-7994
A: Dr. Irene Lin, ihl@stanford.edu; Dr. Carl Bielefeldt, carl@stanford.edu, 650-723-0469
The Buddhist Community at Stanford is an ecumenical group dedicated to creating a supportive community for Buddhist study and practice. BCAS welcomes experienced Buddhists from different traditions as well as people who are exploring.

Chinese Chan Society at Stanford (CCSS)
http://blog.sina.com.cn/stanfordchan
stanfordccss@gmail.com
SP: Rui Jiang (Forest), forestj@stanford.edu,  650-862-1160
CCSS is dedicated to promoting Chinese traditional culture, wisdom, and “Chan”- the fundamental essence and the core of all wisdom. All of events are bilingual English/Chinese. Chan is a systematic way of attaining well-being through recognizing and controlling one’s own mind. It involves delicate techniques of mind training, thorough reevaluation of one’s ideas, relaxation practice indispensable for personal life, and complete “into it” on every single job at the present moment.

World Peace Buddhists (WPB)
http://wpb.stanford.edu/
SP: Sukanya Chakrabarti, sukanyac@stanford.edu, 650-308-8353
A: Nora Richardson, richardson_nora@gsb.stanford.edu, 650-465-2317
WPB is a group of Stanford students practicing Nichiren Daishonin’s Buddhism. WPB members are interested in promoting peace, culture and education on campus and in the community based on Buddhist principles.  Most members are a part of Soka Gakkai International.


CHRISTIAN
Acts 2 Christian Fellowship (A2CF)
https://www.facebook.com/Acts2ChristianFellowshipStanford
SP: Gun Ho Lee, gunho@stanford.edu, 408-828-7810
PL: Rev. Chris Pak, cspak22@gmail.com, 408-569-6392
A: Scott Limb, scott.limb@gmail.com; Cindy Limb, cindylimb@gmail.com
A2CF is a Christian group that meets together to grow in relationship with Jesus Christ through Bible studies, prayer, and koinonia (fellowship). At A2CF meetings you’ll find members singing, laughing, eating, and talking about relevant issues.

Cardinal Life (CL)
SP: Kyle Pollock, kylejp@stanford.edu
PL: Dr. Ron Sanders, rs48@stanford.edu, 650-814-7196; Bonnie Sanders, bonniezs@stanford.edu, 650-561-4277
A: Trent Wiesen, trentwiesen@gmail.com, 650-269-4926; Natalie Wiesen, nwiesen@gmail.com, 303-918-5683
Cardinal Life is a community of faith seeking to grow in intimacy with God and fellowship with one another while creatively engaging the world with the life changing love of Jesus.  As a fellowship, we love to worship, pray, study, serve and play together.  Members desire to see God’s kingdom come and His will be done in their own lives, their own spheres of influence, and in the world as a whole.

Catholic Community at Stanford (CCAS)
http://catholic.stanford.edu
SP: Amy Harris, aharris5@stanford.edu
PL: Rev. Nathan Castle, O.P., ncastle@stanford.edu, 650-725-4621; Rev. Xavier Lavagetto, O.P., xavierop@stanford.edu; Teresa Pleins, tpleins@stanford.edu; Nancy Greenfield, ngreenfield875@gmail.com
A: Lourdes Alonso, lalonso@stanford.edu, 650-723-2490
The Catholic Community provides activities, fellowships, programs, and services for Catholic students at Stanford.

Chi Alpha Christian Fellowship (XA)
http://www.xastanford.org
chialpha@stanford.edu
SP: Eyosias Samson, esamson@stanford.edu, 512-584-0417
PL: Glen Davis, chialpha@stanford.edu, 650-380-0896
A: Jeff Strnad, jstrnad@stanford.edu
Chi Alpha (XA) is a community of students earnestly following Jesus. XA gatherings are informal, charged with music, given to humor and deal with everything from relationships to the nature of truth. XA is sponsored by the Assemblies of God.

Chinese Campus Evangelistic Fellowship (CCEF)
https://sites.google.com/a/chinesecef.org/stanford/
stanfordcef2@gmail.com
SP: Xiao Zhang, szhangx@stanford.edu, 650-766-3452
A: Charles M.C. Lee, professor.lee@gmail.com; Jason Lin, linjasonj@gmail.com, 213-200-1975
CCEF is a Christian organization at Stanford. Members believe that there is more to life than academic achievement and material wealth. To be a whole person, people can’t live as islands, isolated from each other.

Christian Science Organization (CSO)
stanfordcso@gmail.com
SP: Jennifer Thompson, jthomp@stanford.edu, 214-517-3307
CSO’s purpose is to promote healing through the spiritual activity of the Christ, to afford the university community an opportunity to learn the truth about Christian Science, and to provide support for Christian Scientists at Stanford.

Christian Students
http://web.stanford.edu/group/christianclub/
SP: Chih-Wei Yeh, yeh0515@stanford.edu, 650-353-8660
A: Jeff Chang, jccchang@stanford.edu, 650-814-0494; Peng Wei, pengw@stanford.edu, 650-307-7625
Christian Students has been meeting on the Stanford campus since 1992. Members share the Christian faith and believe that the Bible is the word of God. Members believe that God the Father, the Son, and the Spirit, became a man, Jesus Christ.

Cornerstone (CSTONE)
SP: Graham Thompson, grahamth@stanford.edu, 703-342-6761
PL: Scott Scruggs, sscruggs@mppc.org; Britton Wood, bwood@ruf.com
Cornerstone is the college ministry of Menlo Park Presbyterian Church, and members are committed to becoming students of Jesus individually and within community.  Cornerstone’s core values involve the practice of spiritual disciplines and the pursuit of Biblical knowledge.

Ekklesia
http://www.pbc.org/ekklesia
SP: Nina Jimenez, ninaj2@stanford.edu, 775-901-2300
A: Scott Grant, scott_grant@pbc.org, 253-678-8222; Molly Langdon, molly_langdon@pbc.org, 650-776-0844
Ekklesia is the college ministry of Peninsula Bible Church in Palo Alto and operates as a partnership with on-campus Christian fellowships. The group invites students into a deeper relationship with others through the life of the church.

Episcopal Lutheran Campus Ministry (ELCM)

http://elcm.stanford.edu

elcm-peer-ministers@lists.stanford.edu
SP: Jeremy Booher, jbooher@stanford.edu, 508-685-2889
PL: Rev. Greg Schaefer, prgreg@stanford.edu, 650-857-9660; Rev. Andrew Shamel, revandy@stanford.edu
A: Maggie Falenschek, vicar@unichu.org
ELCM is a Christian community of Episcopal, Lutheran, and other faith-seeking students. Members meet for worship, fellowship, topical discussions, and community service.  ELCM is a progressive, LGBT-friendly community.

Grace Campus Ministries

http://gracecampusministries.org/

gracecampusministries@gmail.com
SP: Albert Wu, ajwu@stanford.edu, 510-378-2639
A: Pastor Scott Varney, scottvarney1@gmail.com, 408-569-0778; Anthony Ngai, anthonyn87@gmail.com, 408-666-4092; Dr. Cliff McManis, cmcmanis@gbfsv.org, 650-630-0009
Grace Campus Ministries is a college-age group associated with Grace Bible Fellowship, a Christian church in the Silicon Valley. GCM exists for the purpose of proclaiming the good news of Jesus Christ, teaching the Bible, making disciples, and training future leaders on Stanford campus.

International Students Christian Outreach (ISCO)

http://web.stanford.edu/group/isco/

SP: Clara Fannjiang, clarafj@stanford.edu, 530-574-7430
PL: Steven Long, slong2@stanford.edu, 408-702-5163; Victoria Long, vlong@stanford.edu, 408-702-5203
ISCO is a ministry focused on helping international students and their families to thrive at Stanford by providing supportive relationships, activities, classes, cultural experiences, Bible studies, Christian mentoring, and the Good News of Jesus Christ.

InterVarsity Christian Fellowship, Undergrad (IVCF)

http://www.ivstanford.org

SP: Desmond Lim, dhlim@stanford.edu, 650-521-7617
A: Adrian Lock, ctbowman@stanford.edu, 808-371-2044; Tom Bowman, ctbowman@stanford.edu; Age Lock, agelock@gmail.com
InterVarsity Christian Fellowship is an interdenominational, multi-ethnic evangelical Christian ministry to campuses in the U.S. and abroad. IVCF at Stanford members are committed to growing in their knowledge and understanding of Jesus and sharing that experience with those around them.

InterVarsity Graduate Christian Fellowship (IVGRAD)

http://web.stanford.edu/group/ivgrad/

ivgrad-steering@lists.stanford.edu
SP: Brian Pierce, bpierce1@stanford.edu
PL: Wendy Quay, wquay_2000@yahoo.com, 650-391-6864
A: Yang Wu, hwu2@stanford.edu
This is the graduate chapter of InterVarsity Christian Fellowship. Members seek to follow Christ by living out their vision of spiritual formation, building community, witness and service, and the integration of faith and learning.

Latter-Day Saint Student Association (LDSSA)
SP: Jonathan Lautaha, jlautaha@stanford.edu, 808-358-8086
A: Jeremy Hunt, huntjj@ldschurch.org, 415-439-3916; Markus Covert, mcovert@stanford.edu, 650-319-5126
LDSSA is designed to promote faith in Christ, spirituality, growth, and friendship among Latter-day Saints and their friends on campus through classes, discussions, service, and social activities.

Orthodox Christian Fellowship (OCF)

http://ocf.stanford.edu/

SP: Konstantine Buhler, buhler@stanford.edu, 847-571-1845
PL: Fr. John Kocolas, jkocolas@goholycross.org, 209-988-2718
OCF is a dynamic group of students from many different backgrounds who share a common desire to learn more about the 2000-year traditions of the Orthodox Church. All those interested in learning about Orthodoxy, including non-Orthodox, are welcome!

Parakaleo Christian Ministries

http://parakaleo.stanford.edu

SP: Sophia Vo, sophiavo@stanford.edu, 206-432-6805
A: Steve & Erica Lawry, lawry@stanford.edu, 650-854-0194
Parakaleo Christian Ministries is a student group focused on teaching the foundations of Biblical counseling. Parakaleo offers a three-quarter course on Biblical counseling with the goal of teaching students to apply God’s written word to their own daily life issues and relationships, and equipping them to counsel others from the Bible under the guidance and empowering of the Holy Spirit.

Progressive Christians at Stanford (PC@S)

http://uccm.stanford.edu

progressive-christians@lists.stanford.edu
SP: Ashley Micks, aemixx@stanford.edu, 614-499-2181
PL: Rev. Geoff Browning, geoff.browning@stanford.edu, 650-868-4241; Rev. Greg Schaefer, prgreg@stanford.edu, 650-857-9660
Progressive Christians @ Stanford is a Christian fellowship interested in issues of social justice and taking action through community service.  PC@S welcome seekers, questioners, doubters, believers and mystics. PC@S is a LGBT-welcoming community. PC@S is sponsored by the United Methodist, Presbyterian (PCUSA), United Church of Christ (Congregational), and American Baptist denominations.

Reformed University Fellowship (RUF)

http://www.rufstanford.org

SP: Elizabeth Lake, elake@stanford.edu, 214-536-3696
PL: Britton Wood, bwood@ruf.org, 205-960-3357
A: Katie Wilmes, katie.wilmes@ruf.org, 580-471-9266
RUF is affiliated with the Presbyterian Church in America (PCA). We are a Christian fellowship on campus at Stanford University. Members seek to be a place for the convinced and the unconvinced to come and consider the teachings of Jesus and enjoy the community of Christ Followers.

ReJOYce In Jesus Campus Fellowship (RJCF)

http://rjcfstanford.org

contact@rjcfstanford.org
SP: Alexis Patterson, alexisdp@stanford.edu, 925-876-2866
A: Valesha Jones, foolsforchrist@msn.com, 650-327-9687
Charismatic Christian on-campus fellowship that is designed to bring people to a deeper and more intimate relationship with Jesus Christ, and conform people to the image of Christ.  This is done through a weekly Bible study with Praise and Worship.

Sports Challenge

http://sportschallenge.org/

SP: JJ Koval, jkoval@stanford.edu, 805-807-2082
A: Jim Stump, stumpersci@aol.com, 650-799-5200; Mark Appel, mappel@stanford.edu, 925-895-9614
A relational, Christian-centered ministry to student-athletes through personal discipleship, lifestyle evangelism, and active mentoring.

Youth Evangelical Fellowship at Stanford (YEF)

http://www.yefi.org

yefstanford@gmail.com
SP: Clayton Montgomery, mrmonty@stanford.edu, 916-287-1785
A: Joan Liu, faithjoanliu@gmail.com, 650-996-3160
YEF exists to preach the Gospel to Stanford students and establish the channel to have fellowship with one another in the Lord. Members meet for weekly evening fellowship events, weekday systematic small bible study group, graceful retreats sometime, outing activities and local church activities and seminaries.

 

HINDU
Hindu Students Association (HSA)

http://hindu.stanford.edu

SP: Suhas Kumar, su1@stanford.edu, 650-783-2178
A: Linda Hess, lionda@stanford.edu, 650-725-9732; Pallav Agarwal, pallavyugalagrawal@gmail.com
Open to all members of the Stanford Community, HSA seeks to spread awareness of Hindu philosophy, culture, and values through invited speaker seminars, philosophy discussion groups, and celebrations during Diwali, Holi, etc.

 


 

ISLAM
Islamic Society of Stanford University (ISSU)

http://issu.stanford.edu

issu08@gmail.com
SP: Osama El-Gabalawy, osamae@stanford.edu, 626-200-9504
A: Nanci Howe, nanhowe@stanford.edu, 650-723-4865
ISSU’s purpose is to provide services to the Muslim community at Stanford and to enrich the campus community’s understanding of Islam.

Ismaili Students at Stanford (ISAS)
SP: Arif Gilani, arifg@stanford.edu, 650-630-9076
A: Nadeem Karmali, nadeemk@stanford.edu, 510-333-6791
The Ismaili Student Association at Stanford aims to provide social, educational and religious programming for Ismaili students and to increase the awareness and understanding of the Ismaili Muslim faith in the Stanford community at large.

 


JEWISH
Jewish Student Association (JSA)

http://jewish.stanford.edu

SP: Marty Zack, mzack@stanford.edu, 415-272-5775
PL: Rabbi Mychal Copeland, rabbimrc@stanford.edu, 650-723-1602
The JSA strives to provide fun and inclusive social, cultural, and educational programming for the entire Jewish community on campus, as well as anyone else interested.  JSA’s main goals are to help people meet each other, identify with Jewish heritage, and engage Jewishly.

L’Chayim Club: Chabad at Stanford (Chabad)

http://www.chabadstanford.org/

SP: Julia Turan, jturan@stanford.edu, 773-541-0297
Advisor: Rabbi Dov Greenberg, info@chabadstanford.org, 650-387-4145; Rachel Greenberg, 650-387-2035
L’Chayim Club: Chabad at Stanford is a vibrant Jewish student organization that is dedicated to sharing the warmth, wisdom and depth of Judaism in an exciting, non-judgmental fashion.


SIKH
Sikh Students Association at Stanford (SSAS)
SP: Preet Angad Singh, singhpa@stanford.edu, 650-644-7595
A: Ravinder Dhillon, dhillon40@gmail.com
SSAS seeks to foster cultural and social awareness about Sikhism to the entire community. Major activities include the annual Lohri celebration event held in early Winter quarter, as well as cultural and religious events held throughout the year and open to the public, such as the weekly prayer sessions.