Hans-Juergen Schmidt Award 2013

Individuals in the SHM community, recognized for their outstanding leadership in advancing technologies in industry and government, will be selected by an Award Committee representative of the world-wide SHM community to receive during every SHM workshop (International Workshop on Structural Health Monitoring [IWSHM], European Workshop on Structural Health Monitoring [EWSHM] and Asia-Pacific Workshop on Structural Health Monitoring [APWSHM]) the SHM Hans-Juergen Schmidt Award. The Award, evaluation criteria, Award Committee composition, nomination and selection procedures are described below.

I. Eligibility

Any individual from government agencies and industry of the world region (Americas, Europe or Asia-Pacific) of the SHM Workshop being considered is eligible.

II. Nomination criteria

The *Structural Health Monitoring Hans-Juergen Schmidt Award* is established to recognize an individual for his or her outstanding leadership in advancing technologies in industry and government.

The Award is named after Hans-Juergen Schmidt, whose views and efforts have made a significant impact on the progress of Structural Health Monitoring technologies in industry.

III. Award Committee

The gathering of all the members of the Scientific or Steering Committees of the three workshops constitutes the Award Committee. This Award Committee can be considered as most representative of the world-wide SHM community, gathering faculty members from academic institutions, researchers from the main research institutions and industrialists with a broad view of technology.

The Award Committee Chairman will be chosen from among the Award Committee members by the Chairmen of the three Workshops for a 2-year term in office. His primary responsibility is to make sure the committee functions and, based on the votes from the Award Committee members, to rank the candidates.

IV. Nomination procedure

The nominator must be a member of the Scientific or Steering Committee of the Workshop that is responsible for the award ceremony. The nomination letter, limited to four letter-size pages (1 inch margins, Times Roman 12 font) shall contain a candidate's bio as it relates to SHM activities, a description of the candidate's contributions and their impact, and a closing summary of what sets this candidate apart from others in the field. A full CV of the candidate may also be attached at the nominator's discretion. Self-nominations are not permitted.

The nomination letter shall be sent directly to the Award Committee Chairman at least two months before the Workshop.

V. Selection procedure

The letters of nomination will be sent by the Chairman of the Award Committee to all the members of the Award Committee. They will have one month to review the nominations and to send to the Award Committee Chairman their votes for their top three choices.

VI. Award presentation

During the Workshop, a plaque accompanied by a check will be presented by the Chairman of the Award Committee. The Chairman of the Award Committee and the Chairman of the Workshop are in charge of organizing the Award presentation ceremony.

Chairman of the Award Committee:

Claus-Peter Fritzen Prof. Institut für Mechanik und Regelungstechnik Technische Mechanik Group Room: PB-A 211 Paul-Bonatz-Straße 9-11 57076 Siegen Germany Tel: 0271/740-4621/4622/4633 Fax: 0271/740-2769 Web: http://www.uni-siegen.de/fb11/imr3/?lang=de E-mail: fritzen@imr.mb.uni-siegen.de

Annex I Composition of the Award Committee for 2013

Considering the composition of the following committees:

i) The Workshop Committee of IWSHM

ii) The Steering Committee of the EWSHM

iii) The International Organizing Committee of the APWSHM.

The composition of the Hans-Juergen Schmidt Award Committee is the following:

D. Adams, Purdue University, USA

G. Akhras, Royal Military College of Canada, Canada

F. Casciati, University of Pavia, Italy

F.K. Chang (Chairman), Stanford University, USA

W. K. Chiu, Monash University, Australia

Peter Foote, Cranfield Unversity, UK

C. Fritzen, University of Siegen, Germany

B. Glisic, Princeton University, USA

- A. Guemes (Co-Chairman), Universidad Politecnica De Madrid, Spain
- P. Hagedorn, TU Darmstadt, Germany
- D. Inman, Virginia Tech, USA

S. Kapuria, India Institute of Technology, New Delhi

A. Kiremidjian, Stanford University, USA

T. Kundu, U. of Arizona, USA

V. L. Cam, Laboratoire Central des Point et Chausses, France

H. Li, Harbin Institute of Technology, China

C. Lopes, UNESP, Brazil

J. Lynch, U. of Michigan, USA

Y.Q. Ni, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong

W. Ostachowicz, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland

U. Peil, Technical University of Braunschweig, Germany

W. Staszewski, Sheffield University, UK

F. Lanza Scalea, UC San Diego, USA

H. Sohn, KAIST, Korea

N. Takeda, University of Tokyo, Japan

M. Wang, Northeast University, USA

Z. (Sam) Wu, Dalian Institute of Technology, China

Z. Wu, Ibaraki University, Japan

M. Buderath, EADS, Germany

C. Carella, UTC Aerospace Systems, USA

J. Lougheed, Lockheed Martin, USA

G. Gordon, Honeywell, USA

E. Haugse, Boeing Company, USA

A. Kumar, Acellent Technologies, USA
J. Pinsonnault, Bombardier, Canada
X. (Peter) Qing, COMAC, China
H. Speckmann, Airbus, Germany
P. Anchieta da Silva, Embraer, Brazil
H. Voges, Honeywell, USA
H. Wenzel, VCE Holding GmbH
C. Boller, IZFP, Germany
M. Derriso, Wright-Patterson Air Force Laboratories
C. Farrar, Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA
S. Galea, DSTO Australia, Australia
N. Li, China Special Equipment Inspection and Research Institute
D. Le, US Army Research Laboratory, USA
B.L. Lee, Air Force Office of Scientific Research, USA
I. Perez, Office of Naval Research, USA

W. Prosser, NASA-Langley, USA

LR. Ross, NASA-Langley, USA

O.Venta, VTT, Finland

D. Stargel, Air Force Office of Scientific Research, USA

Annex II Nominators for the EWSHM

The nominators for the EWSHM are the members of the EWSHM Steering Committee: Akhras G., Royal Mil. College, Canada Balageas D., ONERA, France Bannister M., CRC-ACS, Australia Boller C., Univ. Sheffield, UK Buderath M., EADS, Germany Budelmann H., U. Braunschweig, Germany Casas J. R., UPC, Spain Casciati F., Univ. Pavia, Italv Cawley P., Imperial College, UK Chang F.K., Stanford University, USA Déom A., ONERA, France Fassois S., Univ. Patras, Greece Fernando G., Cranfield Univ., UK Fritzen C.-P., Univ. Siegen, Germany Giurgiutiu V., Univ. South Carolina, USA Gobin P.-F., INSA Lyon, France Güemes A., UPM, Spain Habel W., BAM Berlin, Germany Holnicki-Szulc J., IFTR Warsaw, Poland Inaudi D., SMARTEC, Switzerland Kawiecki G., Gamesa D.A., Spain Kundu T., Univ. of Arizona, USA Maia N., IST, Portugal Paget C., Airbus, UK Papadimitriou C., Univ. of Thessaly, Greece Peil U., Univ. Braunschweig, Germany Salvia M., Ecole Centrale Lyon, France Saravanos D., Univ. Patras, Greece

Staszewski W., Univ. Sheffield, UK Takeda N., University of Tokyo, Japan Tur M., Univ. Tel Aviv, Israel Wang X., Univ. Nanjing, China

Annex III Nominators for the APWSHM

The nominators for the APWSHM are the APWSHM Chairmen and International Organizing Committee members: Adams D., Purdue Univ., USA Boller C., University of Sheffield, UK Chang F.K., Stanford University, USA Chiu W. K., Monash Univ., Australia Derriso M., USAF AFRL, USA Farrar C., Los Alamos Nat. Lab., USA Galea S., DSTO, Australia Güemes A., Univ. Polytechn. Madrid, Spain Giurgiutiu V., Univ. South Carolina, USA Mita A., Keio Univ., Japan Prosser W., NASA Langley, USA Richards L., NASA Drysen, USA Schulz M., Univ. Cincinnati, USA Shang H. M., Nanyang Technological Univ., Singapore Speckmann H., Airbus, Germany Takeda N., Univ. of Tokyo, Japan Todd M., Univ. California, San Diego, USA