News Archive

April 2017 Congratulations to postdoc Amani Hariri for winning the Best Ph.D. Thesis Award (Chemistry Department) from McGill University!
April 2017 Postdoc Peter Mage’s work accepted to Nature Biomedical Engineering! Look for “Closed-Loop Control of Circulating Drug Levels in Live Animals” in 2017. Congratulations, Peter!
March 2017 Postdoc Jia Niu accepts position as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Chemistry at Boston College.  He will start on July 1st, 2017.  Congratulations and Good Luck, Jia!!
February 8th, 2017 Stanford faculty named in first cohort of Chan Zuckerberg Biohub investigators
February 6th, 2017 Dr. Jia Niu’s paper in Nature Chemistry is highlighted in C&EN News.  Congratulations, Jia!  Read the full article here.
July 2015 – The Soh lab moves to Stanford University!
November 2015 Congratulations to Diana Wu, recipient of a NASA Ames Honor Award for her work on the Wetlab-2 RNA Extraction Team!
July 2015 Congratulations to Peter Mage, winner of the Falling Walls Lab San Diego!  Peter also presented at the global Falling Walls Lab Finale in Berlin in November 2015.
October 2014 Faye W. and Kareem’s work on P3 (PC-Phone-PCR) system is highlighted in PBS Nova.
August 2014 Faye Walker’s work on point-of-care molecular diagnostics has been selected as an ACS Editor’s Choice article. Congratulations Faye!
August 2014 Our team receives 2014 Keck Grant Award in Medical Research
June 2014 Diana Wu wins the Dean’s Fellowship at UCSB – Congratulations, Diana!!
June 2014 The Director’s Office at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) highlights our lab’s work on nucleic acid aptamers. Using DNA for More than Genetic Information.
June 2014 Tracy Chuong and Cayuga Biotech wins second place in the 2014 UCSB New Venture Competition (Tech Push category). Congratulations, Tracy!
January 21st, 2014 MEDIC attracts the attention of NIH as potential tool for personalized medicine.
January 2014 Professor Soh is inducted as a fellow to American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE).
January 2014 Nature Magazine highlights our work on real-time biosensors.
December 2013 Our MEDIC technology is showcased on
December 2013 Chemical and Engineering News highlights our MEDIC technology, calling it “clever with a capital C.”
November 2013 The Royal Society of Chemistry highlights our MEDIC platform.
November 2013 Science Magazine highlights Dr. Scott Ferguson’s article which made the cover of Science Translational Medicine.
September 2013 Our work in aptamer generation is highlighted in Nature Methods.
August 2013 Dr. Seung Soo Oh is awarded the prestigious Baxter Young Investigator Award for Postdoctoral Fellows.
April 2013 Mr. Peter Mage wins the UCSB Grad Slam Challenge. View Peter’s talk here.
November 29th, 2012 Dr. Allen Yang’s work on cell sorting is highlighted by Chemical & Engineering News.
September 2012 Ms. Faye Fong is awarded the prestigious California Institute of Regenerative Medicine (CIRM) fellowship for pre-doctoral students.
May 2012 Professor Soh participates in a round table discussion on industry-academia collaborations with Senator Diane Feinstein (D: California).  Photo.
April 11th, 2012 Angewandte Chemie publishes a press release about Dr. Kuangwen Hsieh’s work on real-time electrochemical detection.
April 2012 Mr. Seung Soo Oh (Doctoral student in Materials) wins the Silver Medal at the MRS Student Award Competition in San Francisco.
February 2012 Dr. Kuangwen Hsieh (postdoctoral fellow in Mechanical Engineering) wins the Whitaker International Scholar Award.
January 2012 Scott Ferguson wins the Best Ph.D. Thesis Award in the Department of Mechanical Engineering.
January 2012 Professor Soh receives the 2012 Humboldt Research Fellowship.
November 28th,  2011 NIH awards a U54 Center grant led by Professor Soh.
August 1st, 2011 Dr. Scott Ferguson’s work on the MIMED detection system is highlighted by the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
June 17th, 2011 Mr. Seung Soo Oh (Doctoral student in Materials Department) is a grand challenge finalist at the 12th annual UC Systemwide Bioengineering Symposium.
June 3rd, 2011 Dr. Allen Yang is awarded the prestigious Otis Williams Fellowship.
May 2011 Dr. Scott Ferguson’s work on H1N1 Detection is highlighted by C&EN.
May 2011 A team from the Soh Laboratory lead by Scott Ferguson, Jinpeng Wang and Qiang Gong wins the 12th Annual UC Santa Barbara New Venture Competition.  See them compete on YouTube.
May 2011 Graduate student Seung Soo Oh receives the UCSB Dissertation Fellowship.
April 2011 Graduate student Jinpeng Wang’s publication, “Selection of Phage-displayed Peptides on Live Adherent Cells in Microfluidic Channels,” is published in PNAS and highlighted in Nature.
April 2011 Professor Soh receives the NIBIB Edward C. Nagy Lectureship (Bethesda, MD).
November 2010 Professor Soh invited Plenary Speaker at NanoBioTech Conference, Montreux, Switzerland Nov. 2010.
September 2010 UCSB Research-Doctorate Programs ranked highly by National Research Council – Materials Department ranked #1 in all categories; Mechanical Engineering ranks in Top 10 in the nation.
June 2010 Minseon Cho awarded prestigeous Otis Williams Fellowship.
May 2010 Professor Soh awarded Guggenheim Fellowship.
December 2009 USC/UCSB collaboration lead by Rich Roberts and H. Tom Soh wins the NIH Director’s TR01 Award.
August 2009 “Integrated Microfluidic Electrochemical DNA Sensor” is highlighted in Analytical Chemistry.
May 2009 Yi Xiao’s work on the Triple-Stem SNP probe is highlighted in two publications: Angewandte Chemie International Edition and in ChemBioChem.
March 2009 The Controlling Selection Stringency of Phage Display article is highlighted in the Chemical Technology publication of the Royal Society of Chemistry.
March 2009 The Real-Time Cocaine Detection article is highlighted in Nature Chemistry.
March 2009 Congratulations to Scott Ferguson (Ph.D. student) for winning the Best TA in Mechanical Engineering ! !
February 2009 Nature Publishing company writes commentary about the PNAS article in its Sci-Biz section.
January 2009 Prof. Soh wins the Association for Laboratory Automation (ALA) Innovator Award.