Week 6 Tutorial

Induction



Announcements

« Reminder that the first round of revisions for Midterm Exam 2
are due Sunday noon PDT.

 We’re holding extra office hours specifically to talk about
the exam. Check the course calendar for details.

 We’'re creating videos to offer advice on each of the
problems. Please watch this videos before stopping by
our office hours; they cover the most common errors we
saw in each problem.

* Please ensure that you're reading the feedback from TAs on
your problem sets.

 Many of the mistakes we saw on the exam were similar to
errors we see on the problem sets.

 It’s hard to improve a skill if you don’t get any external
feedback!



Part 1: An Induction Game!



Rules

« Start with a pile of n coins for some n = 0

* Players take turns removing between 1 and 5 coins
from the pile.

* The player who has no more coins to remove loses
the game.

* Interestingly, if the pile begins with a multiple of 6
coins in it, the second player can always win if they
play correctly - give it a try!



Rules

« Start with a pile of n coins for some n = 0

* Players take turns removing between 1 and 5 coins
from the pile.

* The player who has no more coins to remove loses
the game.

* Interestingly, if the pile begins with a multiple of 6
coins in it, the second player can always win if they
play correctly - give it a try!

1a) Play a few rounds of this game and describe
the winning strategy for the second player.

Fill in answer on Gradescope!




What'’s the strategy?



Some Observations

 If it’s the first player’s turn and there are no coins left, then
the second player wins
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Some Observations

 If it’s the first player’s turn and there are no coins left, then
the second player wins

 If we start with 6 coins, player 1 has to remove some but not
all of the coins.
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Some Observations

 If it’s the first player’s turn and there are no coins left, then
the second player wins

 If we start with 6 coins, player 1 has to remove some but not
all of the coins.
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Some Observations

 If it’s the first player’s turn and there are no coins left, then
the second player wins

 If we start with 6 coins, player 1 has to remove some but not
all of the coins. Then player 2 can remove the remaining
coins
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Some Observations

 If it’s the first player’s turn and there are no coins left, then
the second player wins

 If we start with 6 coins, player 1 has to remove some but not
all of the coins. Then player 2 can remove the remaining
coins, leaving us in a known winning state.

\

C coins 6 - c coins

e O

Player 1 Player 2



Some Observations

 If it’s the first player’s turn and there are no coins left, then
the second player wins

 If we start with 6 coins, player 1 has to remove some but not
all of the coins. Then player 2 can remove the remaining
coins, leaving us in a known winning state.

« What happens when there are 12 coins?
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Some Observations

 If it’s the first player’s turn and there are no coins left, then
the second player wins

 If we start with 6 coins, player 1 has to remove some but not
all of the coins. Then player 2 can remove the remaining
coins, leaving us in a known winning state.

« What happens when there are 12 coins? Player 1 removes
some coins
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Some Observations

 If it’s the first player’s turn and there are no coins left, then
the second player wins

 If we start with 6 coins, player 1 has to remove some but not
all of the coins. Then player 2 can remove the remaining
coins, leaving us in a known winning state.

« What happens when there are 12 coins? Player 1 removes
some coins, but then player 2 can remove the right number of
coins to leave 6 remaining.
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Some Observations

 If it’s the first player’s turn and there are no coins left, then
the second player wins

 If we start with 6 coins, player 1 has to remove some but not
all of the coins. Then player 2 can remove the remaining
coins, leaving us in a known winning state.

« What happens when there are 12 coins? Player 1 removes
some coins, but then player 2 can remove the right number of
coins to leave 6 remaining. It’s player 1’s turn again and
there are 6 coins, again a known winning state.
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Strategy: The second player can win by
making the total number of coins removed
by their move and the first player’s move
come out to o.



Strategy: The second player can win by
making the total number of coins removed
by their move and the first player’s move
come out to o.

1t is a great idea to try small cases
betore jumping info a formal proot., It will
be much easier o formalize the logic here

now That you have a feel tor how to play the
game,




For all games where the number of coins is a
multiple of 6, the second player can always win
if they play correctly.

1b) Answer the following questions:
« What is P(n)?
« What is the base case?
« What is the step size?

» Is P(n) universally or existentially quantified?
Based on that, should we build up or build
down?

Fill in answer on Gradescope!




For all games where the number of coins is a
multiple of 6, the second player can always win
if they play correctly.

What is P(n)?

What is the base case?

What is the step size?

Is P(n) universally or existentially quantified? Based on that, should we
build up or build down?



For all games where the number of coins is a
multiple of 6, the second player can always win
if they play correctly.

What is P(n)?

Let P(n) be the statement “if the game is played with the pile containing n
coins, the second player can always win if she plays correctly.”

What is the base case?

What is the step size?

Is P(n) universally or existentially quantified? Based on that, should we
build up or build down?
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What is P(n)?

Let P(n) be the statement “if the game is played with the pile containing n
coins, the second player can always win if she plays correctly.”

What is the base case?

The base case is n=0, the simplest possible case of the game is when you
start with no coins.

What is the step size?

Is P(n) universally or existentially quantified? Based on that, should we
build up or build down?



For all games where the number of coins is a
multiple of 6, the second player can always win
if they play correctly.

What is P(n)?

Let P(n) be the statement “if the game is played with the pile containing n
coins, the second player can always win if she plays correctly.”

What is the base case?

The base case is n=0, the simplest possible case of the game is when you
start with no coins.

What is the step size?

We want to show the result is true for multiples of 6, so we’ll take steps of
size 6.

Is P(n) universally or existentially quantified? Based on that, should we
build up or build down?



For all games where the number of coins is a
multiple of 6, the second player can always win
if they play correctly.

What is P(n)?

Let P(n) be the statement “if the game is played with the pile containing n
coins, the second player can always win if she plays correctly.”

What is the base case?

The base case is n=0, the simplest possible case of the game is when you
start with no coins.

What is the step size?

We want to show the result is true for multiples of 6, so we’ll take steps of
size 6.

Is P(n) universally or existentially quantified? Based on that, should we
build up or build down?

P(n) is universally quantified, so we should build down (start with a game
of size k+6 and figure out how to reduce it to a game of size k)



What’s wrong with this proof?



Incorrect!  Proof: Let P(n) be the statement “if the game is played
with the pile containing n coins, the second player can always win if she
plays correctly.” We will prove by induction that P(n) holds for all natural
numbers n that are multiples of 6, from which the theorem follows.

As a base case, we will prove P(0), that if the game is played with a pile
containing O coins, the second player always can win. This is true
because there are no coins in the pile, so no matter what the second
player does, she'll win because the first player loses.

For the inductive step, we will prove that if P(k), then P(k + 6): that is,
the second player can always win in a game with k+6 coins if she plays
correctly.

Suppose the game starts with k coins. By the inductive hypothesis, this
means that the second player can force a win in this situation. Now we
can turn this into a game of size k+6 by adding 6 coins and a turn where
the first player removes some number ¢ coins from the pile (where

1 = ¢ = 5) and a turn where the second player removes 6-c¢ coins.
Consequently, P(k) - P(k+6), completing the induction. W

1c) What’s wrong with this proof? Try to identify
three errors the proof makes.

Fill in answer on Gradescope!




For the inductive step, we will prove that if P(k), then P(k + 6): that is,
the second player can always win in a game with k+6 coins if she plays
correctly.

We need to explicifly assume P(k)
here, The variable k is also not
properly instantiated, When you are
wrifing an assumption or infroducing
variables, you need to do so using a
declarafive verb (*assume”, ‘pick’,
‘choose”, etc.)




This is *building up” insfead of *building
down’, Since the statement we've trying to
prove is a universal sfatement (all games
ot size k+t have this properfy), we need
to start with an arbifrary game of size size

k+6 insfead of a game of size &,

Suppose the game starts with k coins. By the inductive hypothesis, this
means that the second player can force a win in this situation. Now we

can turn this into a game of size k+6




Lastly, proofs should not contain
first—order logic even if the
definitions you're working with are

given in FOL!

Consequently, P(k) - P(k+6), completing the induction.




Proof: Let P(n) be the statement “if the game is played with the pile
containing n coins, the second player can always win if she plays
correctly.” We will prove by induction that P(n) holds for all natural
numbers n that are multiples of 6, from which the theorem follows.

As a base case, we will prove P(0), that if the game is played with a
pile containing O coins, the second player always can win. This is
true because there are no coins in the pile, so no matter what the
second player does, she'll win because the first player loses.

For the inductive step, assume for some arbitrary k € N where k is
a multiple of 6 that P(k) is true and if the game is played with k
coins, the second player can always win if she plays correctly. We
will prove that P(k + 6) holds: that is, the second player can always
win in a game with k + 6 coins if she plays correctly.

Suppose the game starts with k+6 coins. The first player's removes
some number ¢ coins from the pile, where 1 = ¢ < 5. This leaves
k+6-c coins remaining. Now, the second player removes 6-c coins.
This leaves a total of k+6-c-(6-c) = k coins, and it's now the first
player's turn again. By the inductive hypothesis, this means that
the second player can force a win in this situation, so the second
player will eventually win the game. Consequently, starting with
k+6 coins, the second player can win, so P(k+6) holds, completing
the induction. W



Part 2: How Not to Induct



All Horses are the Same Color

P(n) = “All groups of n horses always
have the same color”



All Horses are the Same Color

P(0) = “All groups of 0 horses always
have the same color”

Vacuously true!

Base case: n = (0



All Horses are the Same Color

Assume P(k) = “All groups of k horses
always have the same color”

Inductive hypothesis: n = k



All Horses are the Same Color

Prove P(k+1) = “All groups of k+1 horses
always have the same color”

Inductive hypothesis: n = k+1



All Horses are the Same Color

Prove P(k+1) = “All groups of k+1 horses
always have the same color”

By P(k), these k horses have the same color

Inductive hypothesis: n = k+1



All Horses are the Same Color

Prove P(k+1) = “All groups of k+1 horses
always have the same color”

By P(k), these k horses have the same color

By P(k), these k horses have the same color

Inductive hypothesis: n = k+1



All Horses are the Same Color

Prove P(k+1) = “All groups of k+1 horses
always have the same color”

These horses in the middle were in both sets

Inductive hypothesis: n = k+1



All Horses are the Same Color

Prove P(k+1) = “All groups of k+1 horses
always have the same color”

These horses in the middle were in both sets

And we said that both horses on the ends are
the same color as these overlapping horses

Inductive hypothesis: n = k+1



All Horses are the Same Color

Prove P(k+1) = “All groups of k+1 horses
always have the same color”

So all k+1 horses have the same color!

Inductive hypothesis: n = k+1



Incorrect! Proof: Let P(n) be the statement “all groups of n
horses are the same color.” We will prove by induction that P(n) holds
for all natural numbers n, from which the theorem follows.

As our base case, we prove P(0), that all groups of O horses are the
same color. This statement is vacuously true because there are no
horses.

For the inductive step, assume that for an arbitrary natural number k
that P(k) is true and that all groups of k horses are the same color. Now
consider a group of k+1 horses. Exclude the last horse and look only at
the first k horses. By the inductive hypothesis, these horses are the
same color. Next, exclude the first horse and look only at the last k
horses. Again we see by the inductive hypothesis that these horses are
the same color.

Therefore, the first horse is the same color as the non-excluded horses,
who in turn are the same color as the last horse. Hence the first horse
excluded, the non-excluded horses, and last horse excluded are all of
the same color. Thus P(k+1) holds, completing the induction. W

2) What’s wrong with this proof?

Fill in answer on Gradescope!




What's going on here?



All Horses are the Same Color

Prove P(k+1) = “All groups of k+1 horses
always have the same color”

These horses in the middle were in both sets

Inductive hypothesis: n = k+1



All Horses are the Same Color

Prove P(k+1) = “All groups of k+1 horses
always have the same color”

These horses in the middle were in both sets

But what if there are
no such horses?

Inductive hypothesis: n = k+1



All Horses are the Same Color

P(n) = “All groups of n horses always
have the same color”

P(1) - P(2)



All Horses are the Same Color

P(n) = “All groups of n horses always
have the same color”

By P(1), this 1 horse has the same color
| |

P(1) - P(2)



All Horses are the Same Color

P(n) = “All groups of n horses always
have the same color”

By P(1), this 1 horse has the same color
| |

By P(1), this 1 horse has the same color
P(1) = P(2)



All Horses are the Same Color

P(n) = “All groups of n horses always
have the same color”

These horses in the middle (??) were in both sets

[ ]

L

P(1) - P(2)



The logic in our inductive step does
not allow us fo get trom P(1) to
P(2). Specifically, there are no
non—excluded horses that were in
both sefts,

Therefore, the first horse is the same color as the non-excluded horses,
who in turn are the same color as the last horse. Hence the first horse
excluded, the non-excluded horses, and last horse excluded are all of
the same color. Thus P(k+1) holds, completing the induction. W




Non-Issues with this Proof

« “We should have proven additional base cases”

* A proot by induction only needs a single base
case, so the fact that we only have one here
is not in itself an issue.

« “We should have used complete induction”

« Complete induction wouldn’t have helped us
here either, since our inductive step would
still need to use P(0) and P(1) to prove P(2).



Induction Debugging Tips

« Remember that induction requires two parts: the
base case and the inductive step

 If you see an induction proof of a false statement,
one of these pieces must be broken

« Recommendation: try playing the induction out
one step at a time (Is the base case true? From
the base case, does the reasoning in your
inductive step allow you to conclude the next
statement? What about the following statement?
The one after that? etc.)



Thanks for Calling In!

Stay safe, stay healthy,
and have a good week!

See you next time.
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