CS110: Principles of Computer Systems, Winter 2022

Announcements

  • Fri, Jan 21: Apply to Section Lead for CS106! CS198 section leading is an awesome program to be a part of - you get to be a section leader for CS106A and CS106B, and we hope you will apply! Following up on the information given in lecture on Wed. 1/19, as current CS110 students, you're all eligible, and the deadline is this Thursday January 27 at midnight PDT. The application is available here, and you can visit cs198.stanford.edu for more info or email the CS198 coordinators at cs198coords 'at' gmail 'dot' com. The slides shown in lecture on Wednesday are also available here.

This Week

Week 4
Topic
Materials
Assignments
Readings
Week 4
Mon, Jan 24
Lecture 9: Pipes and Interprocess Communication, Take II
·
Tue, Jan 25
assess1 In
assign3 Out
Wed, Jan 26
Lecture 10: Signals, Take I
·
Thu, Jan 27
Lab 3: Parallel Programming
Fri, Jan 28
Lecture 11: Signals, Take II
·

Schedule

Week 1
Topic
Materials
Assignments
Readings
Week 1
Mon, Jan 3
Lecture 1: Introductions
·
Tue, Jan 4

assign1 Out
·
Wed, Jan 5
Lecture 2: Filesystems, Take I
·
Fri, Jan 7
Lecture 3: Filesystems, Take II
Saltzer & Kaashoek, Section 2.5
Week 2
Mon, Jan 10
Lecture 4: Filesystem System Calls
·
Tue, Jan 11
assign1 In,
assign2 Out
·
Wed, Jan 12
Lecture 5: File Descriptors and System Calls
·
Thu, Jan 13
Lab 1: Filesystems and System Calls
·
Fri, Jan 14
Lecture 6: Multiprocessing Intro
Bryant & O'Hallaron: Sections 1 - 4 of Chapter 1 (reader) or 8 (full textbook)
Week 3
Mon, Jan 17
Observing Martin Luther King, Jr. Day: No lecture
·
Wed, Jan 19
Lecture 7: waitpid and execvp
Bryant & O'Hallaron: Section 5 of Chapter 1 (reader) or 8 (full textbook)
Thu, Jan 10
Lab 2: Multiprocessing and Unix Tools
assign2 In
·
Fri, Jan 21
Lecture 8: Pipes and Interprocess Communication, Take I
·
Week 4
Mon, Jan 24
Lecture 9: Pipes and Interprocess Communication, Take II
·
Tue, Jan 25
assess1 In
assign3 Out
Wed, Jan 26
Lecture 10: Signals, Take I
·
Thu, Jan 27
Lab 3: Parallel Programming
Fri, Jan 28
Lecture 11: Signals, Take II
·

Note that all lectures and assignment deadlines are subject to change.

Our CS110 website imitates that used by University of Washington's CSE373, Spring 2019.