image of history of science

Core Faculty in HPS

Paula Findlen, Co-Chair, Ubaldo Pierotti Professor in Italian History, Department of History

Michael Friedman, Co-Chair, Patrick Suppes Professor of the Philosophy of Science

Gabrielle Hecht, Frank Stanton Foundation Professor of Nuclear Security, Professor of History, and Senior Fellow, Freeman Spogli Institute

Jessica Riskin, Frances and Charles Field Professor of History, Department of History

Helen Longino, Clarence Irving Lewis Professor of Philosophy, Emerita

Thomas Mullaney, Professor, History Department and East Asian Languages and Cultures, by Courtesy

Reviel Netz, Professor of Classics, Classics Department and Professor of Philosophy, by courtesy

Robert Proctor, Professor of History of Science, History Department

Thomas Ryckman, Professor (teaching), Philosophy Department

Londa Schiebinger, John L. Hinds Professor of History of Science, History Department and Director, Gendered Innovations in Science, Health & Medicine, Engineering, and Environment Project

Affiliated Faculty

Keith Baker, J.E. Wallace Sterling Professor of Humanities and Professor of Early Modern European History, History Department

David Holloway, Raymond A. Spruance Professor in International History, Political Science and History Departments

Lochlann Jain, Professor, Department of Anthropology, STS

David Kennedy, Donald J. McLachlan Professor of History, Emeritus

Henry Lowood, Harold C. Hohbach Curator History of Science and Technology Collections, Stanford University Libraries

Kathryn Olivarius, Assistant Professor, History Department

Priya Satia, Raymond A. Spruance Professor of International History, History Department

Fred Turner, Harry and Norman Chandler Professor, Department of Communication

Richard White, Margaret Byrne Professor of American History, History Department, Emeritus

Mikael Wolfe, Associate Professor of History, History Department

Caroline Winterer, Department Chair, Stanford History Department; William Robertson Coe Professor of History and American Studies, Professor of History and (by courtesy) of Classics Departments

Rega Wood, Professor (Research, Emerita), Philosophy Department

Charu Singh, Lecturer

Adrienne Mayor, Research Scholar

Leslie Berlin, Project Historian for the Silicon Valley Archives

Gregory Taylor, Postdoctoral Scholar (Philosophy)


Professor Susanne Schmidt, Humboldt University Berlin postdoc fellowship;
Professor Nataly Valdez, Barcelona Supercomputing Center Scholar;
Chandra Vadhana, PhD, Fulbright Awardee and Visiting Postdoc Fellow;
Jens Amborg, PhD candidate, Fulbright Student Researcher, Uppsala Sweden; and
Huimin Huang, PhD candidate, China


Current Graduate Students

Previous Graduate Students


Rosemary Rogers, Program Manager

Home      Grants & Fellowships      Research Projects      People      Colloquia     Links

Mailing address: Building 200 Room 33 Stanford, CA 94305-2024 | phone 650-725-0714