Participants

Peter Lyman [keynote-speaker]

Professor

School of Information Management and

Systems

102 South Hall

Berkeley, California 94720-4600

Tel.: 510-642-1087

Fax: 510-642-5814

Email: plyman@sims.berkeley.edu

Clifford Lynch

Executive Director,

Coalition for Networked Information

21 Dupont Circle

Washington, DC, 20036

202.296.5098

202.872.0884 (fax)

clifford@cni.org

Jed Buchwald

Director, Dibner Institute

MIT

Cambridge, MA 02138

617. 253-7337

buchwald@mit.edu

Douglas Engelbart

Bootstrap Institute

6505 Kaiser Drive,

Fremont, CA 94555

(510) 713-3552

Engelbart@bootstrap.org

Abby Smith

Director of Programs

1755 Massachusetts Ave., N.W., Ste 500

Washington, DC 20036

202.939.4758

202.939.4765 (fax)

asmith@clir.org

Dr. Thomas F. Edgar

(former President, American Institute of Chemical Engineers)

Associate Vice President of Academic Computing

Academic Computing & Inst. Tech. Services

Dept of Chem Engr, Univ of Texas, mail code C0400, Austin,

TX 78712-1110

tel 512-475-9201

fax 512-475-9282

e-mail tfedgar@bullwinkle.che.utexas.edu

Dr. John W. Roberts

Senior Archivist/Historian

IBM Archives Project

Kingston, NY

tel 914-432-8483

fax 914-432-8417

e-mail ROBERTWJ@US.IBM.COM

(permanent address:

History Associates, Inc.

5 Choke Cherry Road, Suite 280

Rockville, MD 20850-4004)

Dr. Leo B. Slater

Director, Historical Services

Chemical Heritage Foundation

315 Chestnut Street

Philadelphia, PA 19106-2702

tel 215-925-2178

fax 215-925-1954

e-mail lslater@chemheritage.org

 

Paul Edwards

School of Information

301D West Hall

University of Michigan

550 East University

Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1092

(734) 764-2617

pne@umich.edu

http://www.si.umich.edu/~pne/

Sigrid Mueller

2756 Golden Gate Avenue, Apt. A

San Francisco, CA 94118

Tel.: 415-752-5696

Email: sigrid@leland.stanford.edu

Karen Nagy

Deputy University Librarian

Green Library

Stanford University
MC: 6004

Tel.: 650-723-5553

Fax: 650-725-4902

Email: knagy@sulmail.stanford.edu

Assunta S. Pisani

Director

Special Collections, Green Library

Stanford University

MC: 6004

Tel.: 650-725-1011

Fax: 650-725-4902

Email: apisani@sulmail.stanford.edu

Vicky Reich

Green Library

650.725.1134

vreich@sulmail.stanford.edu

Jesse Ausubel

Program Director

The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation

630 Fifth Avenue

New York, NY 10111-0242

Tel: 212-649-1649

Fax: 212-757-5117

Email: ausubel@rockvax.rockefeller.edu

Suzanne Calpestri

Head

The George and Mary Foster

Anthropology Library

230 Kroeber Hall

Berkeley, CA 94720-3710

Tel.: 510-642-5339

Fax: 510-643-9293

Email: scalpest@library.berkeley.edu

Jim Coleman

Projects Manager

Library Digital Initiative

1280 Massachusetts Ave., Suite 404

Cambridge, MA 02138

Tel.: 617-495-3724

Fax: 617-495-0491

Email: jim_coleman@harvard.edu

Robert J. Engeszer, MLS

The Bernard Becker Medical Library

Box 8132

Washington University

School of Medicine

660 South Euclid Ave

St. Louis, MO 63110-1093

Tel.: 314-362-4735

Fax: 314 362-0190

Email: engeszer@medicine.wustl.edu

Bernard Finn

Curator, Electrical Collections

National Museum of American History

Smithsonian Institution

Washington, DC 20560

Tel.: 202-357-1840

Fax: 202-633-9273

Email: finn@nmah.si.edu

Joel Genuth

Study of Collaborations

American Institute of Physics

One Physics Ellipse

College Park, Maryland 20740

Tel.: 301-209-3167

Fax: 301-209-0882

Email: jgenuth@aip.org

Mary Ann Hoffman

Archivist/Pagemaster

IEEE History Center

Rutgers University

39 Union Street

New Brunswick, NJ 08901-8538

Tel.: 732-932-1066

Fax: 732-932-1193

Email: mahoffma@staff.ieee.org

Diane Kaylor

ASME Public Information, 23S2

Three Park Avenue

New York, NY 10016-5990

Tel.: 212-591-8159,

Fax: 212-591-8676

Email: kaylord@asme.org

Corinne Kazarosian

Director of Information Systems and Web Administrator

45 Beacon Street

Boston, MA 02108

Tel.: 617-227-2426 x217

Fax: 617-742-8718

Email: ckazaros@ametsoc.org

David Kirsch

Anderson Graduate School of Management

University of California, Los Angeles

Los Angeles, CA 90095-1481

310.206.3403 voice

310.825.1581 fax

david.kirsch@anderson.ucla.edu

Lawrence Kruger

Professor of Neurobiology (Emeritus)

Dept. of Neurobiology

UCLA Medical Center

10833 LeConte Avenue, CHS 73-323

Los Angeles CA 90095

Tel.: 310-825-9572

Fax: 310-825-2224

Email: lkruger@ucla.edu

J. Lawrence Lee

Chair, ASME H&H

Auburn University

523 Sundilla Court

Auburn, AL 36830-3221

Tel.: 334-826-7270

Fax: 334-844-6673

Email: leelarr@mail.auburn.edu

Prof. Tim Lenoir

History Department

Stanford University

Stanford, CA 94305-2024

Tel: (650) 723-2993

Fax: (650) 723-6937

Email: tlenoir@leland.stanford

Shauna Mulvihill

3643 Mentone Ave. #4

Los Angeles, CA 90034

Email: smulvihi@ucla.edu

Thomas Perry

ASME Education, 23S1

Three Park Avenue

New York, NY 10016-5990

Tel.: 212-591-7234

Fax: 212-591-7143

Email: perryt@asme.org

Prof. Paul Rabinow

Dept. of Anthropology

University of California at Berkeley

232 Kroeber Hall

Berkeley, CA 94720-3710

Tel.: 510-642-2634

Dept.Tel.: 510-642-3391

Fax: 510-548-7806

Email: rabinow@uclink.berkeley.edu

Prof. Milton Schlesinger

Box 8230

Dept. of Molecular Microbiology

Washington University School of Medicine

660 South Euclid Ave

St. Louis, MO 63110-1093

Tel.: 314-362-2762

Fax: 314-362-1232

Email: milton@borcim.wuslt.edu

Prof. Sondra Schlesinger

Box 8230

Dept. of Molecular Microbiology

Washington University School of Medicine

660 South Euclid Ave

St. Louis, MO 63110-1093

Tel.: 314-362-2746

Fax: 314-362-1232

Email: sondra@borcim.wustl.edu

Stephen R. Smith

Senior Director

Publications and Information Technology

American Institute of Chemical Engineers

3 Park Avenue

New York, NY 10016-5901

Tel.: 212-591-7335

Fax: 212-591-8883

Email: steps@aiche.org

James T. Sparrow

Blackout History Project

Center for History and New Media

Robinson B359 MSN 3G1

George Mason University

Fairfax, VA 22030

Tel.: 703-993-8769

Fax: 703-993-8714

Email: blackout@gmu.edu

William C. Summers

450 Saint Ronan Street

New Haven, CT 06511

Tel.: 203 776 5947 (home)

Fax: 203 785 6309 (office)

Email: william.summers@yale.edu

Harold Wallace

National Museum of American History

12th & Constitution Ave. NW

Room 5025

Washington, DC. 20560-0631

Tel.: 202-357-1840

Fax: 202-633-9273

Email: wallace@nmah.si.edu

Spencer Weart

Center for History of Physics

American Institute of Physics

One Physics Ellipse

College Park, MD 20740 USA

Tel.: 301-209-3174

Fax: 301-209-0882

Email: sweart@aip.org

Dr. Sara E. Wermiel

70 A South St.

Jamaica Plain, MA 02130-3143

Tel.: 617-253-4041

Email: swermiel@mit.edu

Larry Myers

Program Analyst

Office of Strategic Planning

National Endowment for the Humanities

Room 403

Washington, DC 20506

voice: 202-606-8428

email: lmyers@neh.gov

fax: 202-606-8619

Arthur L. Norberg

Director, Babbage Institute

University of Minnesota

Department of Computer Science

200 Union Street

4-192 EE CS Building

Minneapolis, MN 55455

Email: norberg@cs.umn.edu

(612) 625-1067

fax: (612) 625-0572

Lisa Bud-Frierman

Dr Lisa Bud-Frierman

Design for Interactive Media

Middlesex University

Cat Hill

Herts EN4 8HT

UK

Email: Lisa.Budfrierman@tesco.net

Robert Bud

Head of Research (Collections)

The Science Museum, London SW7 2DD, UK

Email: r.bud@ic.ac.uk

David Green

Executive Director

National Initiative for a Networked Cultural Heritage (NINCH)

21 Dupont Circle NW

Washington, DC 20036

202.296-5346

david@ninch.org

Henning Schmidgen

Max Planck Institute for the History of Science

Wilhelm Strasse 44

10117 Berlin GERMANY

schmidg@mpiwg-berlin.mpg.de

Sven Dierig

Max Planck Institute for the History of Science

Wilhelm Strasse 44

10117 Berlin GERMANY

dierig@mpiwg-berlin.mpg.de

Joerg Kantel

Max Planck Institute for the History of Science

Wilhelm Strasse 44

10117 Berlin GERMANY

kantel@mpiwg-berlin.mpg.de

Charles Faulhaber

Director

The Bancroft Library

University of California

Berkeley, CA. 94720-6000

Tel.: 510-642-3781

Fax: 510 -642-7589

Email: cfaulhab@library.berkeley.edu

Francis Pisani

Berkeley

Journalism School

Address (home and office):

928 Fresno Avenue

Berkeley, CA, 94707

Email: fpisani@shell14.ba.best.com

Tim Bergin

American University

Department of Computer Science and Information Systems

American University

4400 Massachusetts Avenue, NW

Washington, DC 20016-8116

(202) 885-3863

Email: tbergin@american.edu

John Beatty

Dept. of Ecology, Evolution and Behavior

100 Ecology Bldg.

Univ. of Minnesota

St. Paul, MN 55108

beatty@maroon.tc.umn.edu

Theodore S Feldman

Associate Professor

Dept of History

Box 5047

University of Southern Mississippi

Hattiesburg, MS 39406-5048

(601)266-6013/5642 (w)

Sally Hughes

Bancroft Library

UC, Berkeley

P.O. Box 1565

Ross, Calif. 94957

Alexa McCray

email: mccray@nlm.nih.gov

office_phone: (301) 496-4441

fax: (301) 435-3146

mail_stop: 52

office_location: 38A,7N707

Lister Hill National Center for Biomedical Communications, National Library of Medicine

title: DIRECTOR

Stewart Brand

Stewart Brand

3E Gate 5 Road

Sausalito, CA 94965

415-331-9231

sb@gbn.org

Paul Saffo             

psaffo@iftf.org  

http://www.saffo.org/

Institute For The Future 

2744 Sand Hill Road      

Menlo Park, CA 94025 

v: 650-233-9521 or 650-854-6322    

f: 650-854-7850

Mary Keeler

mkeeler@u.washington.edu

Jeff Karr

ASM Archives

Kuhn Library

UMBC

1000 Hilltop Circle

Baltimore, MD 21250

410-455-3601

FAX: 410-455-1088

Email: karr@umbc.edu