ICA Home  |   Stanford Home   |   Contact Us
taube center for jewish studies

Faculty  |  Library Collections  |  Jewish Social Studies  |  Book Series

Research > Faculty

At the heart of the Taube Center for Jewish Studies at Stanford is a distinguished faculty with a range of expertise in the fields of Jewish history, thought and literature. With primary appointments in the departments of History, Religious Studies and English, our faculty bring a rich variety of perspectives to their scholarship and teaching.

Faculty Affiliated with the Taube Center for Jewish Studies

Zachary Baker
Zachary Baker, Assistant University Librarian for Collection Development - Humanities and Social Sciences
Reinhard Family Curator of Judaica and Hebraica Collections
(Yiddish Studies, East European Jewry, Judaica Bibliography)
Judaica/Hebraica Curator, University Libraries
Green Library HRG
Stanford, CA 94305-6004
E-mail: zbaker@stanford.edu
Phone: (650) 725-1054
Joel Beinin
Joel Beinin, Donald J. McLachan Professor in History
(Middle Eastern Politics, the Arab-Israeli Conflict)
Department of History
Building 200, Room 326
Stanford, CA 94305-2024
E-mail: beinin@stanford.edu
Phone: (650) 723-4956
Site: http://history.stanford.edu/beinin_joel
Jonathan Berger
Jonathan Berger, The Denning Family Provostial Professor in Music
Department of Music
Knoll 303
Stanford, CA 94305
E-mail: brg@ccrma.stanford.edu
Phone: (650) 723-4971 x301
Site: http://ccrma.stanford.edu/~brg/
Arnold Eisen
Arnold Eisen, Professor Emeritus
(Modern Jewish Thought, Modern Jewish Community)
Department of Religious Studies
E-mail: arneisen@stanford.edu
Amir Eshel
Amir Eshel, Edward Clark Crossett Professor of Humanistic Studies
(German and Jewish Literature, Hebrew Literature)
Department of German Studies and Comparative Literature
Building 260, Room 202
Stanford, CA 94305-2030
E-mail: eshel@stanford.edu
Phone: (650) 723-0413
Site: http://dlcl.stanford.edu/
John Felstiner
John Felstiner, Professor Emeritus
(Holocaust Literature, European Jewish Literature)
Department of English
Building 460, Room 327
Stanford, CA 94305-2087
E-mail: felstiner@stanford.edu
Phone: (650) 723-4722
Site: http://english.stanford.edu/

Shelley Fisher Fishkin
Shelley Fisher Fishkin, Joseph S. Atha Professor in Humanities
(American Literature, Jewish American Literature)
Department of English
Building 460, Room 420
Stanford, CA 94305-2087
E-mail: sfishkin@stanford.edu
Phone: (650) 723-1804
Site: https://humanexperience.stanford.edu/fishkin

Charlotte Fonrobert
Charlotte Fonrobert
(Rabbinic Culture, Classical Judaism, Gender Studies)
Department of Religious Studies
Building 70, Room 71B
Stanford, CA 94305-2165
E-mail: fonrober@stanford.edu
Phone: (650) 725-1713
Site: http://jewishstudies.stanford.edu/people/fonrobert

Avner Greif
Avner Greif, Bowman Family Endowed Professor in Humanities and Sciences
Department of Economics
Stanford, CA 94305
E-mail: avner@stanford.edu
Phone: (650) 725-8936
Site: http://economics.stanford.edu/faculty/greif
Katherine Jolluck
Katherine Jolluck
(History of Modern Eastern Europe/Poland/Russia/Soviet Union, Women & War, Gender & Nationality)
Department of History
Stanford, CA 94305-2024
E-mail: jolluck@stanford.edu
Phone: (650) 723-1884
Site: http://history.stanford.edu/jolluck_katherine
Ari Kelman
Ari Y. Kelman, Jim Joseph Chair in Education and Jewish
School of Education
Stanford, CA 94305-3096
E-mail: aykelman@stanford.edu
Phone: (650) 723-0795
Site: http://ed.stanford.edu/faculty/aykelman
Mark Mancall
Mark Mancall, Professor Emeritus
(History of Zionism, State of Israel, Bible)
Department of History
Stanford, CA 94305-2024
E-mail: mmancall@stanford.edu
Phone: (650) 723-5630
Site: http://history.stanford.edu/mancall_mark
Norman Naimark
Norman Naimark, Robert and Florence McDonnell Professor in East European Studies
(Eastern Europe)
Department of History
Building 200, Room 113
Stanford, CA 94305-2024
E-mail: naimark@stanford.edu
Phone: (650) 723-2674
Site: http://history.stanford.edu/naimark_norman
Reviel Netz
Reviel Netz
(History of pre-modern Mathematics)
Department of Classics
Building 110
Stanford, CA 94305-2145
E-mail: reviel.netz@stanford.edu
Site: http://www.stanford.edu/dept/classics/cgi-bin/web/people/faculty/reviel-netz
Jack Rakove
Jack Rakove, William Robertson Coe Professor of History and American Studies
(US History)
Department of History
Building 200, Room 117
Stanford, CA 94305-2024
E-mail: rakove@stanford.edu
Phone: (650) 723-4514
Site: http://history.stanford.edu/rakove_jack
Aron Rodrigue
Aron Rodrigue, Charles Michael Professor in Jewish History and Culture, and Anthony P. Meier Family Professor in the Humanities - Director, Stanford Humanities Center
(Modern Jewish History, Sephardic and French Jewry)
Department of History
Building 200, Room 238
Stanford, CA 94305-2024
E-mail: rodrigue@stanford.edu
Phone: (650) 723-1585
Site: http://history.stanford.edu/rodrigue_aron
Noah Rosenberg

Noah Rosenberg

Department of Biology
339A Herrin Labs
Stanford, CA 94305-5020
E-mail: noahr@stanford.edu
Site: http://www.stanford.edu/group/rosenberglab/
Gabriella Safran
Gabriella Safran, Eva Chernov Lokey Professor in Jewish Studies
(19th C. Russian literature, Yiddish language and literature)
Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures
Building 40, Room 42K
Stanford, CA 94305-2006
E-mail: gsafran@stanford.edu
Phone: (650) 723-4414
Site: http://dlcl.stanford.edu/people/gabriella-safran
Vered Shemtov
Vered Shemtov, Eva Chernov Lokey Senior Lecturer in Hebrew Language and Literature
(Hebrew language and Literature)
Division of Literatures, Cultures and Languages
Building 240, Room 206
Stanford, CA 94305-2006
E-mail: vshemtov@stanford.edu
Phone: (650) 725-1559
Site: http://www.stanford.edu/class/hebrew/about/vered.html

Lee Shulman
Lee Shulman, Professor Emeritus
School of Education
Stanford, CA 94305-3096
E-mail: shulman@stanford.edu
Site: http://www.leeshulman.net
Peter Stansky
Peter Stansky, Frances and Charles Field Professor of History, Emeritus
(Modern British History, Anglo-Jewish History)
Department of History
Building 200, Room 312
Stanford, CA 94305-2024
E-mail: stansky@stanford.edu
Phone: (650) 723-2663
Site: http://history.stanford.edu/stansky_peter
Amir Weiner
Amir Weiner
(Modern Russian and Soviet History, WWII and Holocaust in Ukraine)
Department of History
Building 200, Room 336
Stanford, CA 94305-2024
E-mail: weiner@stanford.edu
Phone: (650) 723-3527
Site: http://history.stanford.edu/weiner_amir
Steve Weitzman
Steve Weitzman, The Daniel E. Koshland Professor of Jewish Culture and Religion
(Biblical and Early Jewish Literature and Religion)
Department of Religious Studies
Building 70, Room 71L
Stanford, CA 94305-2165
E-mail: sweitzma@stanford.edu
Phone: (650) 721-2059
Site: http://humanexperience.stanford.edu/weitzman
Sam Wineburg
Sam Wineburg, Margaret Jacks Professor of Education
(Teaching and learning of history, the nature and development of historical consciousness)
School of Education
485 Lasuen Mall
Stanford, CA 94305-3096
E-mail: wineburg@stanford.edu
Phone: (650) 725-4411
Site: http://ed.stanford.edu/faculty/wineburg
Steven Zipperstein
Steven Zipperstein, The Daniel E. Koshland Professor in Jewish Culture and History
(Modern Jewish History, Russian and East European Jewry)
Department of History
Building 200, Room 11
Stanford, CA 94305-2024
E-mail: steven.zipperstein@stanford.edu
Phone: (650) 725-5660
Site: https://humanexperience.stanford.edu/zipperstein