skip to content

Bulletin Archive

This archived information is dated to the 2008-09 academic year only and may no longer be current.

For currently applicable policies and information, see the current Stanford Bulletin.


Emeriti: (Professors) Henry S. Breitrose, Donald F. Roberts; (Professor, Teaching) Marion Lewenstein

Chair: James S. Fishkin

Director, Institute for Communication Research: James S. Fishkin

Director, John S. Knight Fellowships for Professional Journalists: James R. Bettinger

Director, Media Studies: Jeremy Bailenson

Director, Undergraduate Studies: Fred Turner

Deputy Director, John S. Knight Fellowships for Professional Journalists: Dawn E. Garcia

Acting Director, Journalism: Ann Grimes

Professors: James S. Fishkin, Theodore L. Glasser, Shanto Iyengar, Jon Krosnick, Clifford Nass, Byron B. Reeves

Assistant Professors: Jeremy Bailenson, Fred Turner

Courtesy Professors: Jan Krawitz, Lawrence Lessig, Walter W. Powell, Kristine M. Samuelson

Visiting Lorry I. Lokey Professorship in Professional Journalism: Joel Brinkley, Glenn Frankel

Visiting Hearst Professional in Residence: Ann Grimes

McClatchy Visiting Associate Professor: Beth Noveck

Visiting Associate Professor: Robert Luskin

Lecturers: John Markoff, Gary Pomerantz, Howard Rheingold, James Wheaton, Gregg Zachary

Department Offices: McClatchy Hall, Building 120, Room 110

Mail Code: 94305-2050

Phone: (650) 723-1941

Web Site:

Courses offered by the Department of Communication have the subject code COMM, and are listed in the "Communication [COMM] Courses" section of this bulletin.

The Department of Communication engages in research in communication and offers curricula leading to the B.A., M.A., and Ph.D. degrees. The M.A. degree prepares students for a career in journalism. The department also offers current Stanford University undergraduates a coterminal program with an M.A. emphasis in Media Studies. The Ph.D. degree leads to careers in university teaching and research-related specialties.

The Institute for Communication Research offers research experience primarily to advanced Ph.D. students.

The John S. Knight Fellowships program brings outstanding journalists to the University to study for an academic year. The John S. and James L. Knight Foundation sponsors twelve U.S. journalists. They are joined by nine International Fellows sponsored by the Lyle and Corrine Nelson International Fellowship Fund, the Knight Foundation, Yahoo Inc., and others.


Prospective Undergraduates—Write to the University's Office of Undergraduate Admissions, Stanford University, Stanford, California 94305-3020.

Prospective Coterminal Students—Applications are available online at

Prospective Graduate Students—Online applications are preferred and can be submitted on the web at

The department requires that applicants for graduate admission submit verbal and quantitative scores from the Graduate Record Examination (GRE). Admission to each graduate degree program is competitive, based on the pool of applicants each year rather than on standard criteria that can be stated in advance. The GRE should be taken no later than early November prior to the early December application deadline.

© Stanford University - Office of the Registrar. Archive of the Stanford Bulletin 2008-09. Terms of Use | Copyright Complaints