skip to content

Bulletin Archive

This archived information is dated to the 2008-09 academic year only and may no longer be current.

For currently applicable policies and information, see the current Stanford Bulletin.


Emeriti: (Professors) Takeshi Amemiya, Theodore Anderson, Masahiko Aoki, Kenneth J. Arrow, Paul A. David, Victor R. Fuchs, John G. Gurley, Peter J. Hammond, Donald Harris, Bert G. Hickman, Lawrence J. Lau, Ronald I. McKinnon, Roger G. Noll, Nathan Rosenberg, Thomas Sargent, David A. Starrett, Joseph E. Stiglitz

Honorary Emerita: (Professor) Anne O. Krueger

Chair: Lawrence Goulder

Professors: Kyle Bagwell, B. Douglas Bernheim, Michael J. Boskin, Timothy F. Bresnahan, Lawrence Goulder, Avner Greif, Robert E. Hall, Han Hong, Caroline Hoxby, Matthew O. Jackson, Peter Klenow, Mordecai Kurz, Jonathan Levin, Thomas E. MaCurdy, Paul R. Milgrom, John H. Pencavel, Monika Piazzesi, Joseph Romano, K. Martin Schneider, Ilya Segal, John B. Shoven, Robert Staiger, John B. Taylor, Frank Wolak, Gavin Wright

Associate Professors: Liran Einav, Muriel Niederle, Luigi Pistaferri

Assistant Professors: Ran Abramitzky, Manuel Amador, Nicholas A. Bloom, Giacomo DeGiorgi, Doireann Fitzgerald, Kyna Fong, Peter R. Hansen, Matthew Harding, Nir Jaimovich, Seema Jayachandran, Jakub Kastl, Fuhito Kojima, Aprajit Mahajan, Kalina Manova, Petra Moser, Michele Tertilt

Acting Assistant Professor: Anamarie Pieschacon

Senior Lecturer: Geoffrey Rothwell

Lecturers: Haggay Etkes, Maria Fitzpatrick, Ward Hanson, Hamilton Helmer, Faye Steiner

Courtesy Professors: Anat Admati, David Baron, Jay Bhattacharya, Jeremy Bulow, John Ferejohn, Alan Garber, Ilan Guttman, Stephen Haber, Peter Blair Henry, David Kreps, N. Grant Miller, Rosamond Naylor, Maria Ogneva, Bruce Owen, A. Mitchell Polinsky, Peter C. Reiss, D. John Roberts, James Strnad, Barry Weingast, Robert Wilson

Visiting Professors: Alexander Galetovic, Matthew Kotchen, Ernesto Shargrodsky

Acting Instructors: Marcelo Clerici-Arias, Alex Gould, Mark Tendall

Fellows: Latika Chaudhary, Kristin Kiesel

Mail Code: 94305-6072

Phone: (650) 725-3266

Web Site:

Courses offered by the Department of Economics have the subject code ECON, and are listed in the "Economics [ECON] Courses" section of this bulletin.

The department's purpose is to acquaint students with the economic aspects of modern society, to familiarize them with techniques for the analysis of contemporary economic problems, and to develop in them an ability to exercise judgment in evaluating public policy. There is training for the general student as well as for those who plan careers as economists in civil service, private enterprise, teaching, or research.

The undergraduate program provides an excellent background for those going on to graduate work in the professional schools (for example, business and law) and may also be structured to prepare students for a Ph.D. program in economics. The department's curriculum is an integral part of Stanford's programs in International Relations, Public Policy, and Urban Studies.

The primary objective of the graduate program is to educate students as research economists. In the process, students also acquire the background and skills necessary for careers as university teachers and as practitioners of economics. The curriculum includes a comprehensive treatment of modern theory and empirical techniques. Currently, 20 to 25 students are admitted each year.

The faculty interests and research cover a wide spectrum of topics in most fields of economics, including behavioral economics, comparative institutional analysis, econometrics, economic development, economic history, experimental economics, industrial organization, international trade, labor, macro- and microeconomic theory, mathematical economics, and public finance.

© Stanford University - Office of the Registrar. Archive of the Stanford Bulletin 2008-09. Terms of Use | Copyright Complaints