skip to content

Bulletin Archive

This archived information is dated to the 2008-09 academic year only and may no longer be current.

For currently applicable policies and information, see the current Stanford Bulletin.

Feminist Studies

Director: Heather Hadlock

Program Committee: Heather Hadlock (Music), Miyako Inoue (Anthropology), Helen Longino (Philosophy), Valerie Miner (Feminist Studies), Londa Schiebinger (History), Elizabeth Tallent (English)

Resource Faculty:

Anthropology: Melissa Brown, Paulla Ebron, Miyako Inoue, Sarah Jain, Matthew Kohrman, Barbara Voss, Sylvia Yanagisako

Art and Art History: Wanda Corn, Pamela Lee, Melinda Takeuchi

Asian Languages: James R. Reichert, Yoshiko Matsumoto

Biology: Joan Roughgarden

Business: Joanne Martin

Classics: Maud Gleason, Susan Stephens

Comparative Literature: Patricia Parker

Developmental Biology: Ellen Fitzsimmons Porzig

Drama: William Eddelman, Harry J. Elam, Cherríe Moraga, Peggy Phelan

Education: Susanna Loeb, Joy Williamson, Christine Min Wotipka

English: Eavan Boland, Terry Castle, Michele Elam, Andrea Lunsford, Paula Moya, Sianne Ngai, Stephen Orgel, Ramón Saldívar, Jennifer Summit, Elizabeth Tallent

Feminist Studies: Nicole Baran, Patricia Karlin-Neumann, Susan Krieger, Valerie Miner

French and Italian: Carolyn Springer

German Studies: Kathryn Strachota

History: Philippe Buc, Paula Findlen, Estelle Freedman, Katherine Jolluck, Nancy Kollmann, Carolyn Lougee Chappell, Paul Robinson, Londa Schiebinger, Matthew Sommer, Laura Stokes, Kären Wigen

Human Biology: Anne Firth-Murray

Law: Deborah Rhode

Linguistics: Penelope Eckert, Arnold Zwicky

Medical School: Ann Arvin, Helen Blau, Roy King, Cheryl Koopman, Iris Litt

Music: Heather Hadlock

Philosophy: Helen Longino, Debra Satz

Political Science: Terry Karl

Psychology: Albert Bandura, Laura Carstensen, Hazel Markus

Religious Studies: Charlotte Fonrobert, Hester Gelber, Linda Hess

Slavic Languages and Literatures: Monika Greenleaf

Sociology: Paula England, Cecilia Ridgeway

Spanish and Portuguese: Yvonne Yarbro-Bejarano

Program Office: 450 Serra Mall-Main Quad, Building 110, Room 111M

Mail Code: 94305-2140

Phone: (650) 723-2412


Web Site:

The Program in Feminist Studies is an undergraduate interdisciplinary program offering students the opportunity to investigate the significance of gender and sexuality in all areas of human life. Feminist analysis examines how gender is embedded in society, intersecting with other relations of power, such as class, race, ethnicity, sexuality and age. The courses offered by the program use feminist perspectives to expand and reevaluate the assumptions at work in traditional disciplines in the study of individuals, cultures, social institutions, policy, and other areas of scholarly inquiry.

The Program in Feminist Studies coordinates the courses offered on women, gender, sexuality, and feminism throughout the University, offering a strong curriculum in Feminist and Queer/LGBT Studies and an emphasis on diversity and transnationality. The Program offers an undergraduate major and minor, and an interdisciplinary honors program that is open to students in all majors. The program encourages work in the arts, and supports creative honors theses. Each student majoring or minoring in Feminist Studies builds his or her interdisciplinary program around a focus, which serves to integrate courses from across departments.

The program committee awards the annual Michelle Z. Rosaldo and Francisco Lopes prizes for the best undergraduate work on women, feminism, gender or sexuality. The prizes are awarded in two divisions: an essay division, and a thesis division for senior honors theses and masters' papers written by undergraduates in coterminal degree programs. The Rosaldo prizes are awarded for the best work in the social sciences and the Lopes prizes in the humanities. For more information, see the Program web site.

Courses offered by the Program in Feminist Studies have the subject code FEMST, and are listed in the "Feminist Studies [FEMST] Courses" section of this bulletin.

© Stanford University - Office of the Registrar. Archive of the Stanford Bulletin 2008-09. Terms of Use | Copyright Complaints