skip to content

Bulletin Archive

This archived information is dated to the 2008-09 academic year only and may no longer be current.

For currently applicable policies and information, see the current Stanford Bulletin.


Emeriti: (Professors) John M. Chowning, Albert Cohen, George Houle, William H. Ramsey, Leonard G. Ratner, Leland C. Smith; (Professors, Performance) Arthur P. Barnes, Marie Gibson; (Professor, Research) Max V. Mathews

Chair: Stephen M. Sano

Professors: Jonathan Berger, Karol Berger, Chris Chafe (on leave), Brian Ferneyhough (on leave), Thomas Grey, Stephen Hinton, Julius O. Smith (on leave Autumn)

Associate Professors: Mark Applebaum, Heather Hadlock, William P. Mahrt

Assistant Professors: Jaroslaw Kapuscinski, Jesse Rodin, Ge Wang

Professor (Teaching): George Barth (Piano; on leave Winter, Spring)

Associate Professor (Teaching): Stephen M. Sano (Director of Choral Studies)

Associate Professor (Performance): Jindong Cai (Director of Orchestral Studies)

Courtesy Professor: Paul DeMarinis

Senior Lecturers: Giancarlo Aquilanti (Director of Theory; Wind Ensemble), Stephen Harrison (Violoncello), Thomas Schultz (Piano), Gregory A. Wait (Voice; Director of Vocal Studies), Frederick R. Weldy (Piano)

Lecturers: Kumaran Arul (Piano), Talya Berger (Theory), Fredrick Berry (Jazz Ensemble), Frances Blaisdell (Flute), Mark Brandenburg (Clarinet), Marjorie Chauvel (Harp), Tony Clements (Tuba), Laura Dahl (Resident Collaborative Pianist), Natasha Daniels (Viola), Anthony Doheny (Violin), John Dornenburg (Viola da Gamba), Charles A. Ferguson (Guitar), Debra Fong (Violin), Claire Giovannetti (Voice), Dawn Harms (Violin, Viola), Alexandra Hawley (Flute), David Henderson (Classical Saxophone), Melody Holmes-Schaefle (Flute), Robert Hubbard (Oboe), Graeme Jennings (Violin), Joyce Johnson-Hamilton (Trumpet), Jay Kadis (Audio Recording), McDowell Kenley (Trombone), Mary Linduska (Voice), Fernando Lopez-Lezcano (CCRMA), Murray Low (Jazz Piano), Janet Maestre (Flute), Anthony Martin (Baroque Violin), James Matheson (Oboe), Charles McCarthy (Jazz Saxophone), Robert Huw Morgan (University Organist, Organ), Bruce Moyer (Contrabass), Herbert Myers (Early Winds), James Nadel (Jazz), Rufus Olivier (Bassoon), Larry S. Ragent (French Horn), Amy Schneider (Voice; on leave Autumn), Robin Sharp (Violin), Jerome Simas (Clarinet), Livia Sohn (Violin), Elaine Thornburgh (Harpsichord), Erik Ulman (Composition, Theory), Linda Uyechi (Taiko), Mark Veregge (Percussion), Sharon Wei (Viola), John Worley (Jazz Trumpet), Hui (Daisy) You (Guzheng), Timothy Zerlang (University Carillonneur, Piano)

Consulting Professors: Jonathan Abel (CCRMA), David Berners (CCRMA), Marina Bosi-Goldberg (CCRMA), Walter Hewlett (Computer-Assisted Research in the Humanities), Eleanor Selfridge-Field (Computer-Assisted Research in the Humanities), Malcolm Slaney (CCRMA)

Visiting Professor: Thomas Rossing (CCRMA)

Acting Assistant Professor: Charles Kronengold

Artists-in-Residence (St. Lawrence String Quartet): Geoff Nuttall (Violin), Scott St. John (Violin), Lesley Robertson (Viola), Christopher Costanza (Violincello)

Department Offices: Braun Music Center, Room 101

Mail Code: 94305-3076

Phone: (650) 723-3811


Web Site:

Courses offered by the Department of Music have the subject code MUSIC, and are listed in the "Music [MUSIC] Courses" section of this bulletin.


The Department of Music's aims are to provide specialized training for those who plan careers in music as composers, performers, teachers, and research scholars, and to promote the understanding and enjoyment of music in the University at large through its courses and performance offerings.

© Stanford University - Office of the Registrar. Archive of the Stanford Bulletin 2008-09. Terms of Use | Copyright Complaints