The Stanford Symphony Orchestra, Stanford Philharmonia, and Stanford Summer Symphony provide outstanding opportunities for the practice and enjoyment of orchestral music. SSO and SP rehearse and perform throughout the academic year, with SSS taking place each July. Most concerts are performed in Bing Concert Hall. Collaborative performances often take place with the Stanford Chamber Chorale, Stanford Symphony Chorus, University Singers, Stanford Wind Symphony, and Stanford Live. Membership in SSO, SP, and SSS is open by audition to all Stanford students (undergraduate and graduate), medical students, Stanford staff and faculty, and members of the community of all ages, with priority given to Stanford students. Members do not have to major in music; in fact, fewer than 5% of SSO and SP members are music majors, with most orchestra members majoring in STEM fields. 

 

InTheNewsRemarks - SmartSLide
previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

 

 

2019-20 Season

Fall

HALLOWEEN CONCERT · Stanford Symphony Orchestra & Stanford Wind Symphony · Thursday, October 31 · 7:30 pm · Dinkelspiel Auditorium · Tickets

SP CONCERT FALL · Stanford Philharmonia · Sunday, November 9 · 7:30 pm · Bing Concert Hall · Andrea Chung, bassoon soloist, 2019 Concert Competition Winner · Tickets

TRANSCONTINENTAL RAILROAD 150th ANNIVERSARY 1869-2019 · Stanford Symphony Orchestra · Friday, November 15 · 7:30 pm · Tickets · Sunday, November 17 · Tickets · 2:30 pm · Bing Concert Hall 

FRIENDS OF MUSIC HOLIDAY MUSICALE · Stanford Philharmonia & Stanford Chamber Chorale · Saturday, December 7 · 2:30 pm · Memorial Church · Tickets


WINTER

SP WINTER CONCERT · Stanford Philharmonia · Sunday, March 1 · 2:30 pm · Bing Concert Hall

SSO/SSC WINTER CONCERT · Stanford Symphony Orchestra & Stanford Symphonic Chorus · Friday, March 6 & Saturday, March 7 · 7:30 pm · Bing Concert Hall


SPRING

STANFORD LIVE • FAURÉ REQUIEM · Stanford Symphony Orchestra, Stanford Chamber Chorale & Choir of St. John’s College, Cambridge University · Thursday, April 2 · 7:30 pm · Bing Concert Hall

ADMIT WEEKEND CONCERT · Stanford Symphony Orchestra · Thursday, April 23 · 7:30 pm · Memorial Church

SSO SPRING CONCERT · Stanford Symphony Orchestra · Friday, May 15 · 7:30 pm · Sunday, May 17 · 2:30 pm · Bing Concert Hall

SP SPRING CONCERT · Stanford Philharmonia · Friday, May 29 · 2:30 pm · Bing Concert Hall

Stanford Symphony Orchestra

Stanford Philharmonia

Image result for stanford department of musicImage result for stanford assu