The NSF/CEME Decentralization Conference Home Page

A New Series Coordinator and Web Site

The new series coordinator is Scott E. Page, so the series is in excellent hands going forward. The new web page for the series is

The Spring 2012 NSF/CEME Decentralization Conference

The Spring 2012 Decentralization Conference will be held at Caltech March 30 - April 1, 2012 and the local organizer is John Ledyard. Details are available at

An Overview of the History and Coverage of the Decentralization Conferences

A brief description of the history and coverage of the decentralization conference can be found at

The 2007 Nobel Prize in Economics and the Theory of Mechanism Design

Congratulations to Leo Hurwicz, Eric Maskin and Roger Myerson for the 2007 Nobel Prize in Economics for their foundational work in the theories of mechanism design and implementation! Here is a short description of some of their contributions: nobelbackground-2007.pdf. (A much more extensive description written by the Prize Committee can be found at

Programs of Recent Past Decentralization Conferences

Programs of past conferences can be found at

Please send comments to:
Matthew O. Jackson/

To return to Matthew O. Jackson's web page go to
Last Modified: July 5, 2010.