Shorenstein Journalism Award Nomination Form 2019

The Walter H. Shorenstein Asia-Pacific Research Center at Stanford University (Shorenstein APARC) invites nominations for the 2019 Shorenstein Journalism Award. Use this form to nominate a journalist for the award.

The information provided on this form will remain confidential and will be used solely for assessing your nominee’s candidacy for the award.

The deadline for submitting nomination forms is Friday, March 29, 2019, at 17:00 Pacific time.

For questions about award nomination submissions, please contact us at

* indicates required fields.

Guidelines and Procedures

Please review the following award administration rules and procedures:

* The annual Shorenstein Journalism Award, which carries a cash prize of US $10,000, honors outstanding veteran journalists who have significantly contributed to coverage of the Asia-Pacific region, defined broadly to include Northeast, Southeast, South, and Central Asia and Australasia

* The award alternates between recipients whose work has mostly been published through American news media and recipients whose work has mostly been conveyed through news media in one or more parts of the Asia-Pacific region. In 2019, the award will honor a recipient from the latter category. Included among the latter candidates are journalists who, in addition to their recognized excellence, may have helped to defend and encourage free media in one or more countries in the region.

* Both individual journalists and journalism organizations are eligible for the award.

* A nominee’s body of work may cover any Asia-Pacific region.

* A nominee’s body of work may be in traditional forms of print or broadcast journalism and/or in new forms of multimedia journalism. The work under consideration must come from print and/or audiovisual outlets that publish regularly and adhere to the highest journalistic principles.

* The Shorenstein Award Selection Committee presides over the judging process that results in award winners, for whose selection the Committee is responsible.

* The Selection Committee weighs the public impact of and engagement with a nominee’s body of work, among other factors. Nomination entries may include evidence that demonstrates such impact and engagement.

* The Selection Committee considers nominations submitted only by the following: editors, publishers, scholars, teachers, journalism-related associations, and entities focused on researching and interpreting the Asia-Pacific region. Nominators should have professional knowledge of their nominee’s work.

* Self-nominations are NOT accepted.

* The award will be presented by Shorenstein APARC at Stanford in the Fall Quarter of 2019.

* Nomination entries must include all the information required (asterisked) on this form.

* The deadline to submit award nominations for 2019 is Friday, March 1, 2019, at 17:00 Pacific time.

Acknowledgement *


This section requires information about the individual submitting the nomination form.

Your Name *


This section requires information about the journalist or journalism organization you are nominating for the 2019 Shorenstein Journalism Award.

Nominee's Name *

Examples of Nominee’s Work

Include at least THREE (3) links to samples of relevant work by the nominee. All work samples must be available via outlets that adhere to high journalistic principles.

Tell Us More

Please explain why the nominee should be considered for the 2019 Shorenstein Journalism Award.