CS110: Principles of Computer Systems, Winter 2022

Announcements

  • Mon, Jan 10: We have posted lab discussion section assignments - you can view your assignment from the "labs" link in the side toolbar. We did our best to assign everyone to one of their top choices. On this form, if you'd like, you can also join a different lab with space available. Unfortunately, if a lab is full, we are not able to accommodate additional students at this time, but check back later, as enrollments may shift over time.

  • Labs start Wed. this week, and there's nothing you need to do before lab this week - lab Zoom links will be visible on that page (and on Canvas, under the "Zoom" tab) closer to the start of labs. Your lab leader will introduce themselves and explain everything about lab and what it's all about. We'll see you in lab this week!

This Week

Week 3
Topic
Materials
Assignments
Readings
Week 3
Mon, Jan 17
Observing Martin Luther King, Jr. Day: No lecture
·
Wed, Jan 19
Lecture 7: waitpid and execvp
Bryant & O'Hallaron: Section 5 of Chapter 1 (reader) or 8 (full textbook)
Thu, Jan 10
Lab 2: Multiprocessing and Unix Tools
assign2 In
·
Fri, Jan 21
Lecture 8: Pipes and Interprocess Communication, Take I
·

Schedule

Week 1
Topic
Materials
Assignments
Readings
Week 1
Mon, Jan 3
Lecture 1: Introductions
·
Tue, Jan 4

assign1 Out
·
Wed, Jan 5
Lecture 2: Filesystems, Take I
·
Fri, Jan 7
Lecture 3: Filesystems, Take II
Saltzer & Kaashoek, Section 2.5
Week 2
Mon, Jan 10
Lecture 4: Filesystem System Calls
·
Tue, Jan 11
assign1 In,
assign2 Out
·
Wed, Jan 12
Lecture 5: File Descriptors and System Calls
·
Thu, Jan 13
Lab 1: Filesystems and System Calls
·
Fri, Jan 14
Lecture 6: Multiprocessing Intro
Bryant & O'Hallaron: Sections 1 - 4 of Chapter 1 (reader) or 8 (full textbook)
Week 3
Mon, Jan 17
Observing Martin Luther King, Jr. Day: No lecture
·
Wed, Jan 19
Lecture 7: waitpid and execvp
Bryant & O'Hallaron: Section 5 of Chapter 1 (reader) or 8 (full textbook)
Thu, Jan 10
Lab 2: Multiprocessing and Unix Tools
assign2 In
·
Fri, Jan 21
Lecture 8: Pipes and Interprocess Communication, Take I
·

Note that all lectures and assignment deadlines are subject to change.

Our CS110 website imitates that used by University of Washington's CSE373, Spring 2019.