Credits and Acknowledgements


Alex Soojung-Kim Pang is producer and principal author of "Making the Macintosh." He divides his time between the Stanford University Library, where he works on online projects focusing on the history of Silicon Valley, and Stanford's Science, Technology and Society program, where he is a Senior Research Scholar. Pang holds a Ph.D. in History and Sociology of Science, has taught at various universities, and was Deputy Editor of the Encyclopaedia Britannica during its transition from print to electronic publishing. He is a member of the Board of Editors of The American Scholar.

Wendy Marinaccio conducted interviews and wrote copy dealing with the marketing of the Macintosh. She received a B.A. in Science, Technology, and Society from Stanford University in May 2000, and is now Managing Editor of, a Web portal for college students.



We gratefully acknowledge the assistance (and endless patience) of the Special Collections staff of the Stanford University Library; the staff at the Meyer Multimedia Studio; and our colleagues in the Humanities and Area Studies Research Group. Michael Dennis, Michael Hiltzig, Tim Lenoir, Henry Lowood, David Plotnikoff, Amy Slaton, and G. Pascal Zachary offered valuable suggestions and encouragement.


This site could not have been created without those developers, designers, engineers, writers, user group founders, and entrepreneurs who made the Macintosh, and have so generously shared their time, memories, and old files. We especially thank Bill Atkinson, David Casseres, Raines Cohen, Andy Cunningham, Douglas Dayton, Chris Espinosa, Dean Hovey, Brian Howard, Reese Jones, Barbara Krause, Bill Lapson, Harvey Lehtman, John Markoff, Sandy Miranda, Jef Raskin, Evelyn Richards, Caroline Rose, Theodore Roszak, Jim Sachs, Rickson Sun, Larry Tesler, and Jim Yurchenco.


For their good work identifying typos and other errors, thanks to Nicholas Sanders and Craig Aldrich (who aren't the only ones to send in error reports, but win on volume).

Document created on 14 July 2000;