skip to content

Bulletin Archive

This archived information is dated to the 2011-12 academic year only and may no longer be current.

For currently applicable policies and information, see the current Stanford Bulletin.

Minor in Geophysics

The Geophysics minor provides students with a general knowledge of Geophysics in addition to a background in the related fields of physics, mathematics, and geology. The minor consists of one required class (3 units), two electives (6 units), and prerequisites in mathematics and physics. Minors require no fewer than 20 units and no more than 36 units.


  1. GEOPHYS 110
  2. Three additional approved upper-level (100 or higher) Geophysics lecture courses, typically chosen from GEOPHYS 120, 130, 140, 150, 170, 184, 190
  3. Supporting science:
    1. PHYSICS 20 series (21,22,23,24), or 41 and either 43 or 45
    2. GES 1A or 1B or 1C
    3. CME 100 or MATH 51.

© Stanford University - Office of the Registrar. Archive of the Stanford Bulletin 2011-12. Terms of Use | Copyright Complaints