skip to content

Bulletin Archive

This archived information is dated to the 2008-09 academic year only and may no longer be current.

For currently applicable policies and information, see the current Stanford Bulletin.

Computer Science

Emeriti: (Professors) Tom Binford, Edward Feigenbaum, Richard Fikes, Donald E. Knuth,* John McCarthy, Edward J. McCluskey, William F. Miller, Nils J. Nilsson, Vaughan Pratt,* Jeffrey D. Ullman, Gio Weiderhold*

Chair: William J. Dally

Associate Chair for Education: Mehran Sahami

Professors: Alex Aiken, Dan Boneh, David Cheriton, William J. Dally, David Dill, Hector Garcia-Molina, Leonidas J. Guibas, Patrick Hanrahan, John Hennessy, Mark A. Horowitz, Oussama Khatib, Daphne Koller, Monica Lam, Jean-Claude Latombe, Marc Levoy, Zohar Manna, John Mitchell, Rajeev Motwani, Kunle Olukotun, Yoav Shoham, Sebastian Thrun, Jennifer Widom, Terry Winograd

Associate Professors: Serafim Batzoglou, Dawson Engler, Ronald P. Fedkiw, Michael Genesereth, Christopher Manning, David Mazieres, Nick McKeown, Serge A. Plotkin, Balaji Prabhakar, Mendel Rosenblum

Assistant Professors: Gill Bejerano, Jeffrey Heer, Scott Klemmer, Vladlen Koltun, Christoforos Kozyrakis, Philip Levis, Andrew Ng, Tim Roughgarden

Professors (Research): John Ousterhout, John K. Salisbury

Professor (Teaching): Eric S. Roberts

Associate Professor (Teaching): Mehran Sahami

Courtesy Professors: Russ Altman, Bernd Girod, Teresa Meng, Mark Musen, Fouad A. Tobagi

Courtesy Associate Professors: Ashish Goel, Dan Jurafsky, Benjamin Van Roy

Courtesy Assistant Professors: Atul Butte, Ramesh Johari

Lecturers: Gerald Cain, Nicholas J. Parlante, Robert Plummer, Patrick Young, Julie Zelenski

Consulting Professors: Gary Bradski, Kathleen Fisher

Consulting Associate Professor: Pei Cao

Consulting Assistant Professors: Kurt Akeley, Federico Barbagli

Visiting Professor: Martin Abadi

* Recalled to active duty.

Mail Code: 94305-9025

Phone: (650) 723-2273

Web Site: http://

Courses offered by the Department of Computer Science have the subject code CS, and are listed in the "Computer Science [CS] Courses" section of this bulletin.

The Department of Computer Science (CS) operates and supports computing facilities for departmental education, research, and administration needs. All CS students have access to the departmental student machine for general use (mail, news, etc.), as well as computer labs with public workstations located in the Gates Building. In addition, most students have access to systems located in their research areas.

Each research group in Computer Science has systems specific to its research needs. These systems include workstations (PCs, Macs), multi-CPU computer clusters, and local mail and file servers. Servers and workstations running Linux or various versions of Windows are commonplace. Support for course work and instruction is provided on systems available through Information Technology Systems (ITS) and the School of Engineering (SoE).

© Stanford University - Office of the Registrar. Archive of the Stanford Bulletin 2008-09. Terms of Use | Copyright Complaints