skip to content

Bulletin Archive

This archived information is dated to the 2008-09 academic year only and may no longer be current.

For currently applicable policies and information, see the current Stanford Bulletin.


Chair, Executive Committee for the Immunology Program: Lawrence Steinman (Professor, Neurology and Neurological Sciences)

Director for Immunology Program: Olivia Martinez (Professor, Surgery)

Director for Clinical Immunology Program: C. Garrison Fathman (Medicine/Immunology and Rheumatology)

Participating Departments and Faculty:

Biology: Anthony W. De Tomaso (Assistant Professor), Patricia P. Jones (Professor)

Chemistry: Harden M. McConnell (Professor, emeritus)*

Genetics: Lenore A. Herzenberg (Professor, Research), Leonard A. Herzenberg (Professor, emeritus), Man-wah Tan (Assistant Professor)

Medicine/Bone Marrow Transplantation Program: Robert Negrin (Professor), David Miklos (Assistant Professor), Judith Shizuru (Associate Professor)

Medicine/Endocrinology: Ajay Chawla (Assistant Professor)

Medicine/Hematology: Calvin Kuo (Associate Professor), Peter Lee (Associate Professor)

Medicine/Immunology and Rheumatology: C. Garrison Fathman (Professor), William Robinson (Assistant Professor), Samuel Strober (Professor), Paul J. Utz (Associate Professor)

Medicine/Oncology: Gilbert Chu (Professor, and Biochemistry), Dean Felsher (Associate Professor, and Pathology), Ronald Levy (Professor), Shoshana Levy (Professor, Research)

Medicine/Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine: Mark Nicolls (Associate Professor)

Microbiology and Immunology: Chang-Zheng Chen (Assistant Professor), Yueh-Hsiu Chien (Professor), Mark M. Davis (Professor), Hugh McDevitt (Professor), Garry P. Nolan (Professor), David Schneider (Assistant Professor)

Molecular and Cellular Physiology: K. Christopher Garcia (Professor, and Structural Biology), Richard S. Lewis (Professor)

Neurology and Neurological Sciences: Lawrence Steinman (Professor, and Pediatrics), Tony Wyss-Coray (Associate Professor)

Pathology: Eugene C. Butcher (Professor), Michael Cleary (Professor), Gerald R. Crabtree (Professor, and Developmental Biology), Edgar G. Engleman (Professor, and Medicine/Immunology and Rheumatology), Magali Fontaine (Assistant Professor), Stephen Galli (Professor and Chair), Sara Michie (Associate Professor), Raymond A. Sobel (Professor), Irving L. Weissman (Professor, Developmental Biology, and Director, Institute for Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine)

Pediatrics: Ann Arvin (Professor, and Microbiology and Immunology), Christopher Contag (Associate Professor, Research, and Microbiology and Immunology, and Radiology), David B. Lewis (Professor), Elizabeth Mellins (Associate Professor)

Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences: Firdaus Dhabhar (Associate Professor)

Structural Biology: Peter Parham (Professor, and Microbiology and Immunology)

Surgery: Sheri Krams (Associate Professor, Research), Olivia Martinez (Professor, Research)

* Recalled to active duty

Mail Code: 94305-5178

Phone: (650) 725-5076


Web Site:

Courses offered by the Immunology Program have the subject code IMMUNOL, and are listed in the "Immunology [IMMUNOL] Courses" section of this bulletin.

© Stanford University - Office of the Registrar. Archive of the Stanford Bulletin 2008-09. Terms of Use | Copyright Complaints